You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: GMO corn that enables no-till planting.

in #discussion6 years ago

I don't know if it's a bad thing or not. In general I'm a huge fan of technology. No way do I want to give up my motorized vehicle, HVAC system, short and long term food storage units, let alone the modern medical advancements that keep me alive (better living through chemistry). I've never experienced soil erosion problems because of tilling my garden but reading the comments it seams it can be a real problem. As far as modifying our food from mother natures design to support an increased population, I'm not a fan. As far as I know the increase in terminal diseases is mother natures way of rebalancing the system. Plus I think the population is way too high already. I'm just not smart enough to figure out how to get away from most people without giving up the modern conveniences I enjoy.

Sort:  

As far as modifying our food from mother natures design to support an increased population, I'm not a fan

too late. Everything you eat has been genetically modified.

As far as I know the increase in terminal diseases is mother natures way of rebalancing the system.
Terminal diseases are decreasing and people are living longer.

Plus I think the population is way too high already
then you must have some idea of what the optimum number is...what is it?

I'm just not smart enough to figure out how to get away from most people without giving up the modern conveniences I enjoy

get a job on a cruise ship.

I'm sure you are right that at least most of the food I eat has been genetically modified, but I don't have to believe that's a good thing.
I will admit that the number of diseases considered terminal are decreasing due to advances in medical technologies and I am personally grateful for those advances. That doesn't mean mother nature has lost the war.
As far as the optimum population goes, I am not a progressive liberal so I would never impose my "feelings" on anyone, but if I live somewhere that I am starving to death, I'm not sure the idea of having a bunch of kids that might starve to death doesn't make a whole lot of sense to me. Stupid will always survive, just don't ask me to support it. Some people need a lot more people around to make them happy. I'm just not that kind of person.
Although joining a cruise ship would technically remove me from "most" people, it would condemn me to an extremely over crowded and confined space. I just might rethink my thought that suicide is stupid.

Dance with wolves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66