Discrimination and police inefficiency

in #discrimination7 years ago

This a topic that is repeated too often, in different parts of the world, where for example dress somehow makes you suspect in the eyes of officials. 

This is a fact that as I mentioned above, happens in many of our countries, where police forces have a discriminatory standard, especially with clothing; in my country, I see it daily I know that elsewhere in the world is the same, and is something that I'm really against it, because not every citizen who is seen in an informal way, is a delinquent, nor which is suit, is a good citizen. 

Seeing it this way is difficult to perceive an offender who is, and who isn't, now culturally in our societies perceived a person suspected, because you dress so and has tattoos, that according to police standards. I think all we have seen them, but the issue is not just the training of the police, that in our countries from small, make us see that, if you saw you in such a way, can seem an offender, for which we ourselves, the people created a social standard, that ends up being reflected in some way in the police forces. 

To me personally, I stopped the police seldom, I could tell about 3 times, in what I have of life, doing what he called them, routine revisions, the last time it happened to me was 2 weeks ago, near where alive at about 8 o'clock, I'm in a commercial establishment, bought one formula to my son , and good tail was a bit long, so I went out later, when I went to my house, rushed by the violent situation in my country, wanted to go as soon as possible, a military me for, and asks me if I have identity card, to which I replied that Yes, I had a bag, and decided to check my just loaded my sweater and my cell phone. 

But a moment that I was nervous, not because he had something to hide, but unfortunately in my country can not be trusted anyone, bodies police often are criminals, the officer asked me to take off my cell phone, which nervously, I did, and I say nervously, because it's a phone that once cost me how 240 dollars , and bought me it because of my efforts, working online, the officer came a moment that told me that this phone, could not be mine, and was stolen, that currently bother me much, if nothing bad happened. 

But what is the point to which I want to arrive with all of this, at least I am a person that I seen informally, because it is my style is what I like, and I think that much money that might have me wear equally and is that I started thinking, able to if it had been otherwise according to the standards of dress would, I not had stopped, now I get a question is that right?, perhaps I have no right to dress the way I want?, just in case I have to pretend that I'm not?, definitely not!. 

And I say this with total conviction, because I see it every day in the streets, I think that this discriminatory treatment, not should continue, I think that the new officers, should teach them, that any person is suspected, by his way of dressing, for having tattoos or piercing, further work must be more efficient, because instead of stopping people for what they believe is suspicious , they should make efficient operations in search of the criminal groups that operate in my country, but which do not, nor care about, because many of them unfortunately are part of these groups. 

My reflection end, on this theme in particular, is that must review us, in a flat general as people, in that is finished such discrimination, to which consider unfair, and that repudiation with all my forces, believe that all the world has right to exit to them streets, of the form that wants to, without import much what say the society , because the truth, neither are the ones who, tell others how they should act. 

I leave this video, I would like your opinion:

Source video: Reflect

Follow me: @luisucv34

All images were taken from pixabay.com


Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.79 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57951.98
ETH 3051.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26