DiscoverYourBody | Thighs, Tours and Pole Dancing

in #discoveryourbody6 years ago

I used to live in a small city in France called Tours. Tours is one of my homes. It was where I learnt to live alone, cook, pick a good wine on a budget, zumba, kayak and set up camp in the wild. One of the things I never got around to doing however was pole dancing. My friend Patricia loved to pole dance. So much so that she even started teaching with a studio in Tours. She constantly tried to persuade me to come and give it a shot. She felt empowered because of pole dancing, she said. It was indeed amazing how show could will her body to wrap and glide around the pole effortlessly.

I probably spent way to much time at the guinguette to ever make time for pole dancing. I wanted to. But a part of me was scared. My brain told me that there was no way my body would be able to move and bend elegantly, effortlessly. I was also shy. I think you really need to embrace your body to be comfortable enough to pole dance. I wasn't at that place then.

Am I at that place now? I don't know. I saw a post of Patricia's on Instagram last week where she managed to perfect a new pose (?) on the pole. It looked effortless. I noticed then how strong your body has to be, but specifically your thighs to support yourself on the pole. It seemed like the perfect way to depict thighs for @yoganarchista's third week of the Discover Your Body Contest. I think I'll follow through with it regardless of the contest simply because it'll be such a nice collection of artwork to have at the end.

poledancer2.jpg
watercolour and ink on paper.

Sort:  

Yo
,Thanks for the great content

Great post! You're definitely empowering yourself through art, writing and travel though... To'each their own pole I guess :D

Hahaha, true. But art travelling and writing to an extent are things I'm comfortable doing. Sure, going to new places brings new challenges every time but I'm comfortable with the concept of travelling. I think it takes a different kind of courage to jump into something that is not your domain at ALL. The feeling afterwards is a very different kind of rush.

Oh my! Wow! I just love it! It is beautiful. It is sexy! It has movement. I can even hear sounds in the background. Some music.
Last time I thought you were the winner. This time, I am pretty sure about that.

Thank you so much for the kind words, @kennitgabriel! I'm flattered :)

This series gets better each week. I love the aesthetic you've got with the watercolours and the floral pen lines. The pose is so dynamic and you've got the proportions spot on. Love how it turned out, great job!

I know exactly how you feel, @manouche. I've turned into a person who seems shy on the outside but feels completely opposite on the inside. I have a lot of energy within that I'm waiting to express in different ways. Pole is one of the things on my very long list of activities I am going to do in the future. @polebird has been a great inspiration! You've chosen an excellent subject for @discoveryourbody

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06