Headstand digital painting (sketch to final)

in #discoveryourbody6 years ago (edited)

This is an entry into @yoganarchista 's contest for drawing the lower leg. I decided to bring the image into completion and to record my steps.

Final image:

ftfinal.jpg

Since the idea was to feature the feet, I began sketching different poses where the feet could be the foreground. This was not as easy as I thought. But, when I began to think about handstands and headstands. I could think of the feet in relation to the hands:

ft.jpg

Or, rather, in relation to the whole body. The image above was a set of limbs going into a handstand. But, visually, for it to make more sense, I decided on a headstand, where the head would be touching the floor, making it easier to compose an image that would make sense to the viewer.

ft2.jpg

I spent a little too much time finding a good tool to draw with. The original sketches were done with the Windows Ink Workspace which is a great tool for sketching line images, but really does not offer many coloring options. There were limitations though -- for one, I could not put down a brown backdrop -- which was my original idea for a simple color scheme. So, I scrawled brown crayon all over the image.

ft3.jpg

Dreadful, I know! But, on the other hand, this gave me a good idea of the physical space in which the body inhabited.

My next step was to replace the sketching lines with a finer, finishing line. This was fun! I could erase old lines with a quick motion and draw over with a pen line. Very precise! As I continued to work, I also gave up on the brown background -- to everyone's relief, I would say.

ft4.jpg

ft5.jpg

As I tightened up the image, I moved the feet in towards the body.

ft6.jpg

Almost exactly the same image, but I adjusted the hand.

ft7.jpg

These black and whites are actually my favorite "finished" look. But, I wanted to challenge myself to color the image.

Since Windows Ink Workspace was a terrible app for artistic coloring, I settled on the Wacom Bamboo Paper app which was still pressure-sensitive, free, and fast enough to run on my little drawing tablet (Asus VivoTab Note 8).

I blocked in the major shapes and took the opportunity to move major aspects of the sketch. Especially, the arms and body required adjustments.

ft8.jpg

And, of course, just as I was getting satisfied, I checked the image upside down. And found many compositional and anatomical flaws!

ft9.jpg

I finished the image by reshaping the torso again, moving the arm out for stability, adding shadows to the ground, and fine-tuning the face. After a while, I thought it was time to stop. And here we are.

ftfinal.jpg

Thank you for journeying with me!

FYI, I plan to resume my series on anatomical studies after a little bit. For now, I will offer new free-topic sketches like this one.

Here is the art contest that inspired me:
https://steemit.com/discoveryourbody/@yoganarchista/win-sbds-discover-your-body-art-contest-2-lower-leg

Sort:  

I like it! Upvoted and followed, i also do some digital art, if you want, check it on my blog ;) Cheers

Thank you!

I resteemed your post

Thank you!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73