You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steemit Bar is Getting an Upgrade & Moving to Discord! (Instructions & Tutorial inside)

in #discord8 years ago (edited)

EDIT: The issue I had previously with this post has been resolved.

Thank you to the author for editing the post slightly to reduce the possibility of people being misled.

I wish her and all community members the best with the Steemit Bar in its new home.

Sort:  

"an unauthorized takeover of the official Steemit chat platform."

Wow, that is completely out of line and not evidenced. I am on both and have seen absolutely no such thing transpiring. What I have seen is the already existing Steemspeak user base migrated from a Teamspeak server to a Discord channel because they were impressed with the features and speed. They did tell their friends about the improved service on rocket chat and invited them over but it's not like it's being spammed or sharing that type of info is out of line.

Voice chat has always been the heart of Steemspeak it offers a completely different experience from text based chat. There is no reason these two places can't exist in harmony. Most users are present on both.

Smooth, I generally respect and agree with your opinions and often find the best answers to my questions come from you on Rocket chat but there is nothing misleading about this post. The title and content are not divorced from each other and nothing should be changed by the looming threat of a whale flag.

PS: If you have evidence of an organized "takeover" attempt I would love to see it. I'm just not seeing it.

I actually am using both. I am missing what the issue is? Since SteemIt, doesn't have chat. People are just using whatever tools are available. Come join us @Smooth, many whales have been by recently. :)

There's no issue with using both. I encourage it and have never been anything but supportive of steemspeak even though I haven't joined it (I did listen to ned on there though).

The phrase "Everyone is migrating" and the fact that a particular channel is moving is hidden below the image has (likely unintentionally) misled people.

It's all fixed. Nicely done everyone.

lolz!! Are you serious, that's hilarious!!

It is perceived that way by a number of people, who commented to me about this particular post which was the only reason I'm here at all (I didn't see the post myself). I've never heard of the steemit bar channel before nor has anyone discussed it with me, so if it were clear this post is about moving the bar channel, I'd never know about it.

What I have seen personally is people proposing such a migration on steemit.chat channels. The perception or the suggestion may be incorrect or not reflect the views or intent of the organizers, but it still exists.

They did tell their friends about the improved service on rocket chat and invited them over but it's not like it's being spammed or sharing that type of info is out of line.

This is specifically incorrect. It has been perceived as spam (again, even if not intended) and complaints have been made to the moderators. I believe at least one person was asked by moderators to stop.

Let's all work together, to bring people to SteemIt. (Edited)

"people proposing such a migration on steemit.chat channels"

I haven't seen that but I'll take your word for it. To me both of these platforms are merely stepping stones until Steemit is able to offer these features themselves. I see no issue with advertising either here in a post and it is certainly nothing flag worthy.

Your flags go a long way and get noticed. I only learned of this post because you flagged it. You might want to consider the Streisand effect when you flag in the future.

A comment without a flag probably would have gone over a lot smoooother ;)

You might want to consider the Streisand effect when you flag in the future

I have no problem with this post getting more visibility, as long as people aren't being misled as they clearly were earlier (in bringing it to my attention). I'm all for promoting social channels in the wider Steem ecosystem as it sounds like the Steemit bar is, as well as Steemspeak.

Believe me I'm well aware of the Streisand effect and there have been unambiguously abusive posts that I watched instead of flagging to make sure they simply stayed unnoticed by almost everyone.

To me both of these platforms are merely stepping stones until Steemit is able to offer these features themselves.

Agree mostly. Real time chat may never be on the blockchain, and steemit.chat using the rocketchat software (bad as it is) is the official platform for now. Hopefully that will change to something better.

Well I see people creating their own steemits and calling it whatever they may want to call it as long is it is synced with the blockchain. I could be way off here but I feel as if somebody goes and starts their very own blockchain with steemit right here, well they would have to be blind. lolz

Dude - even @ned and @blocktrades are at Discord. You are welcome too @smooth but you must have a much better attitude then your normal "easily offended" attitude if you gonna hang with the community on discord. https://discord.gg/dhnEx - Don´t attack this woman's Steemit Bar please.

LOL, I have nothing against the bar. I'm sure the bar is great, and I may very well join your Discord server too.

I do, however, think that your retaliatory flag on my comment was inappropriate. There was nothing abusive or harmful about the comment. Would it be better if I just flagged and did not comment?

First drink is on the house @smooth :) Looking forward to see you there, and to have you on the Radio one of these days.

Flag removed :)

You flagged her? wtf?

yeah - can you believe it? With TWO of his accounts he flagged her!

LOL. You know perfectly well that the two accounts are programmed to always vote together.

Yes (smooth), I don't see this as smooth using two different accounts to give us a good smackaround.

There was an honest case of ambiguity and I think we all managed to deal with it as adults.

I've edited out the heading. If there is another issue and I haven't edited enough, please let me know soon.

Thank you! It looks more clear to me now without the heading, so I am removing the flag. Sorry for the (temporary) disagreement.

I wish you the best for your Steemit Bar channel at the new home! In fact, I have now upvoted.

Thank you for the upvote. Steemit Talk is almost over but if you want to listen and see what the fuss is about. https://discord.gg/VjvgH

Also, @the-ego-is-you said to say hi

I'm a little confused about this. Is the title an issue? Or is it just this paragraph?

Everybody is migrating to Discord

(Video tutorial at the bottom)

You may have been using Steemit.Chat or SteemSpeak or another program to connect with your steemit comrades, but if you’ve been living under a rock you might not have realised that Discord is fast becoming the new club in town.

I'm just having trouble understanding what is misleading. What exactly should be changed..?

If I change "everybody is" to "people are"?
I mean I included this paragraph because I'm finding that steemit.chat is getting quiet... people who use discord are no longer using steemit.chat...

Can you please clarify the issue so that I can change whatever needs to change?

Please make it clear that your channel is moving, not "everybody" ("Some people" would be fine, but is pretty bad writing). I think just stating clearly that the steemit bar channel is moving is quite clear.

Are you saying that it's not ok for us to choose our own platform....? The truth is people are moving away from rocket.chat.... Doesn't the market decide?

Of course is perfectly okay to choose your own platform, I even encourage it. But suggesting that everyone is migrating is untrue. Perhaps complicated by the fact that "migrating" has a particular technical meaning when it comes to service platforms, one which you may or may not be aware of.

I think it would perhaps have been better to say that "a lot of users are migrating". I don't see any untruth or source for future confusion in that, right?

Things happened in a hurry and we made some mistakes. We'll try to learn from them.

"I'm planning on removing the flag"

Smooth, you said you would remove your flag but you haven't yet. Please remove the flag and stay true to your word. Whale flags on perfectly fine content like this are one of the big reasons we have people fleeing. These types of flags hurt anyone hold any Steem.

If people are feeling because they have been misled about how content may be flagged on this platform, then I would suggest better education. If they are fleeing because this is a platform where stakeholders have a say over how rewards and visibility is awarded, then they are just in in the wrong place.

As I said I'm planning to remove the flag. I'm hoping the misleading content can be made less misleading.

It has been edited out. The post no longer says "migrating" or anything about how many users are moving from steemit.chat to discord.

The image has also been moved lower which I don't like. But it's done. Now that I know how this feels I understand why our userbase has dropped.

Replied elsewhere. The flag was removed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62226.04
ETH 2440.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63