Discord: What is it, why should I care, and how does it work?

in #discord6 years ago


What is Discord?

1) Discord is the only cross-platform voice and text chat app designed specifically for gamers. With the iOS app you can stay connected to all your Discord voice and text channels even while AFK. It is perfect for chatting with team members, seeing who is playing online, and catching up on text conversations you may have missed.

Why should I care?

1) I'm a gamer! 

Well then, if you're using Ventrilo, Teamspeak or Skype for your game chats then it's time to make the switch!

You can also view the application from your Android or iPhone when your AFK, meaning you'll never miss a message!

2) I'm not a gamer but I'm on Steemit?

Well, I'm not a "gamer" either but as I looked into voting bots, community platforms, chatroom and groups like the Minnow Support Project I found that Discord was a common theme. 

You can get (or find) invitations to groups like PAL (Peace, Abundance & Liberty), or the Steem Engine that feature posts, have upvote chatrooms where you can debut your latest post for the community, and much more!  It's an easy platform to learn too where you can make friends and even listen to the radio!

Here you can see that I'm a part of a few groups:

  • OBS Community
  • Peace Abundance and Liberty
  • Steem Freinds
  • Steemit Phillipines
  • Steemit Ramble
  • The Steem Engine

As a few examples, I'm a part of the OBS Community because I am learning how to use the recording software OBS Studio currently, and this makes it really easy to ask a question in the community and get a quick response if I'm having trouble.  

PAL is a post-promotion group centered around - you guessed it, Peace Abundance and Liberty

Steem Friends is a "Facebook" -esque application within the Steemit "Dverse" that I've been checking out so when I saw they had a Discord I joined it - they aren't very active though.

How does it work?

Check out this video by Biya Bite!



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84