Cultivating Discipline - My New Way of the Ninja

in #discipline7 years ago

Hello again, Steemit!

As I explained in my introductory post, I intend on following my childhood dreams of becoming a ninja. To be clear though, I do not intend on killing people. Being able to protect/defend people, my loved ones, is my main initiative. Perhaps spying and sabotage with a little bit of my personal favorite, espionage.

I have a long ways to go and a lot of training to do, mastering skills is a lot of work. I had been living a life of excess and convenience for nearly a decade, before I relocated. Living on streets helped me to appreciate less, more. Although this past summer I had been working and have spoiled myself again to some extent. It is still very easy for me to succumb to laziness and gluttony.

Ninjas...

To the best of my knowledge, were either trained from a very young age in martial techniques and mysticism, or farmers that developed martial techniques to rebel against the hierarchy/nobility. Either account sounds agreeable to me, I intend on being my own unique type of ninja. I prefer the less mundane, mystical ninja explanation though. Why inhibit yourself? 

Either way, these people had to embody something that I struggle with due to years of counter conditioning...   
 

 
(Me after my friend Brandons 19th birthday party 5 or 6 years ago)

Discipline 

By definition: 

  1. Training of the mental, moral and physical powers by instruction, control, and exercise. 
  2. The state of order and control, resulting from such training.
  3. Systematic training in obedience to rules and authority.
  4. Punishment or disciplinary action for the sake of training or correction.
  5. A system of rules, or method of practice.

 -Funk and Wagnalls Standard College Dictionary(1980)


The first and second definitions seem to be on point, in regards to my goals. The third and fourth is clearly what stands in my way. I govern myself rather loosely, with an immense lack of structure and routine. The final definition appears to be the answer. A system of rules, or method of practice.

My plan of action...

(will be fluidly adapted and progressive)

  • Sleeping before 10 PM and waking up at 5 or 6 AM.
  • Eat less for breakfast and lunch (clove of garlic, banana, avocado, water, small coffee).
  • Stretch daily and do sit ups, push ups, plank.
  • Go for a jog/run some laps around driveway loop (perhaps with dog).
  • More stretching and exercise.
  • Meditate more.
  • Smoke a lot less.     

Sleepy Ninja

When I am not very physically active during the day, I tend to have a hard time sleeping. Usually getting out of bed around 9 or 10 AM and feeling tired still. If I stick with this, that should progressively become less of a problem. I thoroughly enjoy the peaceful solitude when I am awake before everyone else. A nice opportunity to collect my thoughts, before other energies come into play.

Hungry Ninja

I have always had a healthy apatite, that goes double for breakfast. It is the most important meal I'm told. I used to think that meant that I should eat a lot of it. Leaving me feeling lethargic and unmotivated. From recent first hand experience, I have found that less is more. When I only eat fruit and garlic with a small cup of coffee. I feel really great! I usually cave and have a big lunch, but I intend on curbing that and grazing for lunch too.

Fitness/Mystic Ninja

The physical aspect is really something I just need to make myself do, a lot. I have had some success in the past, developing a loose routine of exercising. @skycae and I have been stretching as often as we can remember. I think that I might make a check list for myself. Flesh out a flexible daily timeline of sorts, that may take on more structure as my routine develops. I think that developing some sort of daily meditation ritual is a good idea, I don't take much time to look inwards peacefully. I like the idea of prayer too. The last time I spoke with my grandmother, she asked me if I knew that it was important to pray. I am not of any particular faith, but I think there is certainly merit in the practice. Expressing gratitude for your food existing and wishing that everyone is doing well in life. Sounds good to me, no matter what higher power you attribute it to. 

Smoke Bomb!

I am not going to "quit" smoking tobacco, I intend to transform my addiction into more of a ritual. This will prove to be the most challenging feat by far. I started smoking cigarettes when I was 10 years old, I am 28 now. Hopefully my new found discipline and activities will help make it easier. There are a few aspects of my life that I feel smoking enhances, such as drinking tea or after sex. Switching to a pipe and smoking my own home grown tobacco, might help give it a more ceremonious feel?

(revised ninja breakfast 1.0)

Arigato! Thanks for reading.

I hope that you enjoyed, putting this in writing is a big step towards my dreams. A pledge to myself and the Steemit community, to be the ninja that I am in my soul. I am always open to constructive criticisms, suggestion, guidance and valuable first hand experiences of others. Please share!           

  


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84