My First Time Caddying 4 Disc Golf

in #discgolf6 years ago

I started playing disc golf in 2006, played a lot of tournaments off & on for most of the decade following. Was good enough to be a successful amateur but not quite good enough to regularly cash playing pro (950ish golf).

The last couple years I have not played much as it wears on my hip too much & causes a lot of functional asymmetry for me. But I still have a lot of good friends who play competitively & have gotten really good.

One of these friends asked me to caddy for him on his birthday the other weekend & it was a lot of fun. I carried his bag for his afternoon round & he crushed the course & competition. Think he ended up -14 for the round (best of the tournament 1037rated), threw a birthday tournament ace & ended up winning the whole thing the next day by 7.

Here is the birthday ace 👇!

As his caddy for the round I did not like to see the running to the basket & big hype after the ace. Golf is all about maintaining a smooth flow mentally & physiologically. He raised his heart rate & Adrenalin & got a little out of rhythm after the ace, taking pars instead of birdies. Can’t really blame him, was on video with a gallery & everybody got real excited, except the grumpy caddy thinking about the shot on the next hole 😂

Few holes later he found the rhythm again & finished birdie, birdie, birdie. Was a fun round & he said I helped him stay relaxed. The real bonus of having a caddy is saving the legs. Lugging around a 50lb bag for 3 rounds in two days takes a lot of energy so I was happy to help for one of the rounds.

If you get the opportunity to caddy for a good player or even watch some local pros play disc golf, I highly recommend it. It is a beautiful game!

Sort:  

Wow, chains sound even better in slow mo! That adrenaline dump is real though. I couldn't birdie anything the rest of the game after either of the 2 aces I've hit. If I was in a tournament and hit one I'd definitely need a good caddie to calm me down.

Sometimes people go the other way & get on fire after an ace. I’d visualize that possibility & make it happen after your next ace. That’s some internet caddying for you !

Niiiiice, I've only seen a couple aces better than this, and I don't think I have video of either of them. So nice camerawork and nice shooting. I didn't realize players had caddies but it makes sense. I used to play quite a bit until about ten years ago here in the Vancouver area, when all my friends moved over to Ultimate, which I didn't have the cardio for.

There are some pretty good Canadians that come down here for tournaments, good guys always funny

That was great shot of that ace ;9)

Ya it was, forgot to mention everybody should subscribe to the channel johnbrowndiscgolf !

is that channel here on steemit?

Unfortunately it’s on YouTube

Great post! I recently got my second ace after a 9 year drought..I certainly threw off my game, it was the first throw of leagues and I managed to celebrate too much and threw one of my worst rounds of the year! But I had fun!

It is pretty common after an ace to get too excited. Kind of like a home run being a rally killer, or a slam dunk killing your shooting rhythm. Got to stay in the rhythm, just another shot !

Damn! That is amazing. Did you get any aces when you used to play?

Ya, I threw at least a half dozen over the years. Never during a filmed round though. It is a great sport, lots of good mellow people

Yeah it seems really fun. I need to go out and try it. So as a caddy are you there for emotional support, or is there different discs you use?

There is a lot of options on every shot but it’s very personal. I pretty much kept my shot/disc advice to a minimum to not be a distraction from my friends normal rhythm. Golf is very psychological so every player probably needs a little different type of support to play their best. Keeping things relaxed & fun is good caddying

I caddied for Kris Orrick back in 2005 USDGA. And got to see Barry Schultz and BRian Scwerberger in our group.

Amazing to watch those guys so I know how you feel.

You're right it is a is a beautiful game.

Awesome, some legends!

Around 2012 I played on a first round tournament card with Dave Feldberg, Kyle Crabtree, & Tim Skellenger (all top 50 rated in the world at the time). Was a big mountain type course & amazing to watch those guys. They all made lead card 2nd round, I did not 😂

Definitely my best tournament card

50 pound bag?!? WTF does he keep in his disc golf bag!!! Great that the ace was captured on film, that is a rarity!

Might have been a little hyperbole, but u know 20+ discs & water & a snack & phone & wallet & Keys, back up minis, pencils, towels, maybe even a speaker.,. Golf bags always fill up, it’s fun to put rocks in peoples bags 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43