After A Year...I Got My Disc!

in #discgolf5 years ago

fa8e8ae4-eb21-4c20-9a4f-7f8d67131004.jpeg


When I was going through my terribly messy divorce which seems like forever ago, I was a mess. I tried to keep my mind preoccupied as much as possible, but there was not much out that that would truly distract me from the insanity. That’s when my cousins invited me out with them to go play disc golf.

It totally helped clear my mind of the toxic shit that was surrounding me. We would just play, get exercise, joke around and shit on each other as much as possible. Come to think of it, that’s what we pretty much do when together. Try for the laugh...and it was something I welcomed greatly at the time.

Not only did it help just being around these guys...they are basically my brothers in this life. The three of them...one being @blank7, are like best friends and brothers rolled into one. We always have a fun time together and I am grateful for the introduction to this game through them. Since then we always try to get together a few times a year to play at various courses depending where we are and who’s available.

They are all better than me. I’m not bad. I can hold my own but I don’t play often enough. I need to try to start going to the course down here by me...even by myself just to get the practice in.

Anyway, the reason I’m writing this is to show off my new disc that just arrived. A few years back, my cousin Rich let me use some of his discs. I was a God with one specific driver and was just nailing each attempt. It was a special disc that they only made for a specific tournament or something like that. I believe he ended up losing it not long after if memory serves me correctly, but I wanted to find one.

This being disc golf and that being a limited edition disc...odds are there weren’t many of these lying around or even made at all. So I put an eBay alert for it. It took a couple of years but I finally snagged one for $30 bucks! Totally stoked to try it out. I might bring my basket to the park near me and throw a ton of practice shots with it and my others in my fancy carrying bag.

Blewitt


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

ca-chink! best sound evah!

Right?!? You play?

I gotta practice more. My cousins are pretty damn good. I usually hang with them for the first 9 and then gradually fall apart shortly after that.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Damn, do I love a story with a happy ending. I love when someone's able to come across a "holy grail" of sorts, whether it's in comics, or video games, or even sports equipment. May all your, uh, beagles be...eagles...? :)

Lol

Yeah I e there’s this on my eBay alerts. I missed one once months back as I didn’t see the alert until it was too late but was lucky to catch it this time around.

That day was probably a fluke and I’ll be terrible with it. That’s my prediction. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's disc golf!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @blewitt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 120000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 125000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!!

Another thing to add is that vibram doesnt make discs anymore, so you could say that's a collector's piece.. :p

But I love ya man. Glad we got together and glad you enjoyed it. I could say the same thing helped me get through my rough time.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71