Why it's good to disagree

in #disagree7 years ago

IMG_1495.JPG

I heard some wisdom last week that got me thinking. It’s more important to listen to people who disagree with you rather than those that constantly agree.

These folks will never encourage you to examine your beliefs for accuracy and diminishes any feedback of idiotic ideas. Those who disagree with you help illuminate the validity of your belief system by enabling a discarding of notions that fall apart under a different light.

In turn constructive disagreement propels those involved towards knowledge, incrementally driving each other to wisdom.

Sort:  

That's the words of wisdom. Having people challenging will definitely makes you reflect on your own weaknesses and make improvement. I wish I have some friends who always disagree with me too

I disagree. lol I wish you well on your journey my friend

Haha you r so nice xd

It really just depends. Most people arent ready to be disagreed with with when it comes to big things. Call it pride, stupidity, or just being too sensative idk. I've found its rare that someone is truly willing to reevaluate their world view.

This photo is very interesting, I want to join as a member of steempact, I am a new person in steemit world, please support and support, so that I can deepen steemit, and make me a person who always interact with steemit

I believe it is incredibly important for people to disagree with you. Not only does it allow you understand other perspectives, but it gives you the ability to defend a thesis and further strengthen your ideas.

A state of disagreement in itself does not necessarily lead to wiser outcomes. The disagreer needs to provide legitimate points to counter your initial statement whether by pointing out your fallacies or presenting stronger arguments that outshine yours. On the other hand, you will have to be wise enough to listen, learn and ready to demolish some strongly held beliefs, if necessary.

Great topic by the way.
Thank you.

I honestly couldn't agree with you more. I'm so bored of destructive criticism from our surroundings. Once the aspects of constructive thought goes into play we can build concepts so vast we begin to understand a universe and all the knowledge contained within

I totally Disagree, haha joking of course :)

I was just about to say the same thing lol

Congratulations @riazlatib! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

It's always good to get both sides of the story, not to mention how helpful disagreements can be in creating innovation.

Yes sir! Indeed

Great thoughts. Some of the best discussions I have had are with people I firmly disagree with. I think we can always learn from any discussion we have

Valid point. I once mailed a letter late after work at the post office. There was a homeless man there that looked and me and offered me $5. He said "here, you look like you need this more than I do!"

I wasn't offended but laughed at the irony and firmly believe that no matter who you are. There's always lessons to be taught

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59934.86
ETH 2666.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45