Why Aren't Beaches Handicap Accessible?

in #disability7 years ago (edited)

                                                     

39.6 million. According to the CDC that is how many adults have a physical functioning disability, and that number does not even include how many children suffer from physical limitations. Some disabilities are mild, some are moderate, and some are severe. A person’s limitations often impact their ability to participate in group activities.  

I just returned from our family vacation at Myrtle Beach. I cannot even explain how stunning the beach is. We stayed in a condo right on the beach, so the view was even more spectacular. I stood on the balcony and watched as the waves rolled onto the shore and then receded back from where they came. The vacation was exactly what my family needed, but the beach has never been my first choice of vacation options because of how difficult it can be. I am a fairly active person who can be very creative when it comes to finding solutions to whatever problem there is. I refuse to allow my disability to hold me back. This was my second time to a beach, so I knew a little about what to expect. I took my old pair of crutches that were being kept purely for spare parts because I knew the toll the trip would take on them. They were destroyed by the end of the trip, but thankfully I had them to spare. I believe that it is safe to say that crutches and beaches do not mix.  

                                                  

So, we grabbed our beach bag and set off to the beach. It was a journey of a thousand pains. As we got to the sand, my crutches began sinking deep into the sand piles, making each step difficult to transverse. When they were not sinking, they were sliding on the compact sand, causing falls and embarrassment. When those two things were not happening, I was tripping on the tall piles of sand. Keep in mind that if I fall the wrong way, I can shatter my residual limb (I call it Stumpy) and need reconstructive surgery. Then once I finally made it to the water, I had to walk into the waves with my crutches in order to get out far enough to sit down and scoot into the water. Everything was easier once I was actually in the water because water removes any inability I have. I can dance and twirl and it does not matter whether or not I have a leg. The water frees me. Eventually, however, it was time to get out and go back to the room. It was harder to get back across the beach because I was wet and cold and tired. Getting off the beach was twice as hard as getting onto it, and that frustrated me.  

But, it got me thinking. I cannot be the only person with a disability who ever wanted to visit the beach. A beach vacation is a must for many families. So, what happens if someone in the family has a physical disability? Does the family have to choose their second selection instead of going where they truly want to? That has happened to me before, and let me tell you that it is hard to deal with. It always broke my heart knowing that I was the reason that people could not do what they truly wanted to. It is depressing when a limitation make something become nearly impossible. Life is not always fair, but limitations should not be absolute.  

Why are beaches so inaccessible to people with physical disabilities? Some people use crutches like me. Some people use walkers. Others may use a wheelchair. Some may be blind and require a walking cane. There are many different forms and variations of mobility. The Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA) requires accessibility to establishments for people with disabilities. Everyone should have equal access to public places. Should this apply to places like a beach? I think that it should.  

It would not be difficult or expensive to make a beach accessible to everyone. For example, walkways could be extended out which are reserved for those with disabilities. Often times people misuse what is meant for disabilities because it makes their life easier even if they do not need it. These walkways could lead up to the beach, removing the need for someone to trip their way across the sand. Railings could also be put in place to extend out into the water so that people would be able to make their way to the water without sliding on wet sand. It would be an easy, inexpensive, and profitable option. If beaches placed these access points along their shore, their revenue would go up because people who had to stay away from beaches because of disabilities would now be able to enjoy the beach like everyone else, from the safety of accommodations.  

I think that public beaches and attractions should have to have some type of reasonable accommodation for those with disabilities so that everyone, despite their impairment, can enjoy attractions the same as others. Disability does not mean inability. Inaccessible leads to inability in impairment, and it is time that changes. Why should a disability diminish enjoyment in life?

Sort:  

Good point and one I have never thought about , with engineering and technology where it is there must be a solution

Thanks @stickchumpion. I agree. There are many things that everyone learns to adapt to in life, but sometimes those adaptations are not effective or safe. It would be a very simple, inexpensive, and effective fix that would generate the locations even more money because more people would finally be able to go to those places.

I have worked as a caregiver for a c2 quadraplegic, and have carefully considered this issue.

The problem is that disabilities are just that: disabling. As a result of a disability, there are actual limitations imposed on you, and those that care about you.

Sand can't be made crutch friendly. Natural areas can't be paved, and ramped to be made wheelchair friendly. Every hard surface in the world can't be padded to prevent mentally or emotionally challenged people from harming themselves by impacting them.

However, those that have suffered a disability can use tools to reduce the disability.

Consider for a moment the expense of retrofitting every beach, grassy swale, forest, and mountain so that EVERY disabled person can easily (as easily as possible) make use of it. Every public building, every stair, every alley, every street, every light post and sign.

The undertaking would cost more than the GDP of the entire world. It is not possible.

Consider then the cost of providing reasonable prosthetics and appropriate devices to the disabled so that they can use natural areas, stairs, streets and public buildings just like unimpaired folks can.

This latter expense is actually attainable, and aiming to do that will provide access to things modifying the whole world never will, such as the beach.

My friend, the quad, was able to run an aquarium business, despite not being able to physically do any of the work tending aquariums requires, because he hired helpers to do what he could not.

Crutches will never be of much use on sand, but tracked vehicles traverse sand easily. Rather than trying to pave the world, or extend boardwalks into every natural area in existence (forever ending actual natural areas as a result) consider how best to extend your capabilities beyond the limitations that have been imposed on you.

Just having a helper to carry you over the beach to the water would solve your particular problem. Having a tracked wheelchair enabled my friend to use natural areas, climb stairs, and he was even able to drive a vehicle by outfitting it with appropriate controls.

The world hasn't been disabled, and doesn't need to be paved. Your physical limitations can be overcome with appropriate application of technology, and you too can enjoy the beach, mountains, or any other place you may desire to go.

I hope you do not misinterpret my comment as without compassion. Rather consider the outcome I am advocating for: that your ability to use every place on the world be the result of your efforts, rather than giving up on those places that simply cannot, or will not, be modified so that EVERY disabled person can use them without better prothesis.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55