A weird discovery at the mall

in #dinosaurs7 years ago

IMG_20180125_181319.jpg

I was out shopping today and ran into a display for the Royal Tyrell Museum. They had a few replica skulls on display that were pretty amazing. This one was a Tyrannosaur and it looks pretty damn badass. It's not a T-Rex though but actually an Albertosaurus, named after the province I live in.

Here's the little plaque that was beside the skull:
IMG_20180125_181324.jpg

When I was little I went to dinosaur camp each year and was crazy about dinosaurs. There is an area near where I live where lots of fossils have been discovered and a cool museum dedicated to Palaeontology. I loved going and visiting each year and it was always the highlight of my summer.

I really thought it was cool when I saw this today. It brought back a bunch of great memories from my youth and I just wanted to share it with all of you.

Sort:  

Right there with you.

I was a dinosaur nut as a kid, as much of a PIA know-it-all as the little boy in Jurassic Park, and two of my favorite places in the world were the L.A. County County Museum of Natural History, which had several dinosaur skeletons, including a complete T-Rex, and the LaBrea Tar Pits, which were adjacent to the L.A. County Museum of Art.

There is a museum over the tar pits now, but when I was a kid they were still in the open air, and you could smell the tar. There was a very cool life-sized sculpture of a mastodon stuck in the tar, and just the listing of all the fossils they had recovered from the tar pits was extensive; from dire wolves to saber tooth cats, and on and on.

I dearly loved Jurassic Park when it came out, and how cool that Crichton found a way to make T-Rex into a hero of sorts. Of course, in addition to the film, he was also one of my favorite authors from way back.

But when it comes to dinosaurs, I'm basically a little kid that never grew up. I still dearly love them.

I was obsessed with his books when I was younger. I was just rabid for them. I think timeline was one of my favorites. Just loved all his books.

I love Timeline as well, and agree that it was one of his best.

My Crichton adventure started with Andromeda Strain, and went from there, and so many of my favorite films were based on his books!

He is one of very few authors whose books just kept getting better and better as he went along.

I was devastated when he died so young.

Wow this post brought back a super specific memory for me - a paleontology documentary hosted by Jack Horner that my Dad taped for me off PBS or something when I was a kid and VCR's that could record from TV was wow, big deal stuff lol I must have watched it 500 times! Part of it was in the "Alberta Badlands" - as a kid I imagined it was full of bad guys lol Good times, thanks for those memories :)

nice story. I like this post. you can many many post shear with here.

hello, can you sell me 20k points on steemfollower pls?
i don't have enough SBD to buy 100k at a time!
would be awesome

thank you very much! just bought the first 20k :)

and the second one as well :D

Dinosaurs have always been both a source of freaking out and fascination for me, it's crazy to look at how big they were compared to today's animals :D

Great story, thanks for sharing
@tincanjunction

Thumbs up to whoever is responsible for the preservation and exhibition of these artifacts.
It’s a great job they’re doing.

Indeed Some memories are unforgettable, remaining ever vivid and heartwarming!
Followed you and upvoted your post!

Thats awesome they set this up. It would be cool if they brought in a new dinosaur display every week. If they do, keep the uploads coming!

They had a few others on display, I just felt this one was the coolest.

@clanwarclan the Tyrannosaur will always kick ass over a herbivore haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60830.20
ETH 2393.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63