Slow cooked Silverside

in #dinner7 years ago

Silverside


Tonights dinner was slow cooked (7+ hours) silverside, with carrots and mash potato. The silverside was "cooked" in about one litre of lemonade, a little different perhaps, but the combination of the sugar and the aeration of the carbonated water helps to break down the meat fibers.



The meat was fall apart tender, the only way to cut it without disintegration was along the grain, otherwise it did just fall apart. A sauce for this is of course required, I couldn't make up my mind on which to have so I had some with horseradish, and some with a mild mustard.

The mash potato was made from potatoes that were steamed in the microwave, then put in a bowl, into which was added butter, mayonnaise, nutmeg, paprika, and some salt and pepper.

Everything was yum, yum, yum. I wanted to eat more, but decide the wise thing to do would be to leave some for leftovers.

Sort:  

Oh man, I love a good corned beef or silverside. Add a mustard sauce and veggies and it's one of those nice winter meals from my childhood

And the leftovers make great sandwiches the next few days too :)

It is a great dish, and sandwiches are the plan for the left overs. :) me happy. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82