You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Hyperinflation

in #dilution8 years ago (edited)

The dilution rate of 0.19% per day is due to the changing conversion rate between VESTs and STEEM. You can find that information on https://steemd.com/ on the right hand side.

Currently it is: steem_per_mvests 223.282

The number listed on your wallet page as Steem Power is a representation of VESTs in your account, denominated in STEEM.

The effect of the changing conversion rate is similar to a stock split. There are other ways that STEEM is created, such as participating in voting, posting, and commenting. That's why the money supply is rising faster than it would if it was only a matter of dilution/interest.

You might be interested in this post @lukestokes made:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@lukestokes/do-you-know-your-steem-power-interest-rate

Sort:  

Thanks bacchist ,

But these are STEEM and not STEEM Power that I purchased off bittrex, after that exchange trapped that for 2 days, it looks like STEEMIT is also trapping me so I'm getting heavily diluted and can't do anything about it. Very disappointed at the fact that they've locked up the market and I'm stuck holding steem while watching it getting heavily diluted.

Like @dan said, you will be able to power up shortly.

I'm waiting to power up, myself. But I completely recognize the need for security. I appreciate that they are taking it seriously.

power up and bittrex seems to work again. at least for me :)
Lets power up :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47