My Favorite Travel Photo and the Story Behind it: Songkran in ThailandsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #digitalnomad6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-08-01 at 11.08.44 AM.png

This is one of my favorite photos of all time. That's me, with the blonde hair and the Chang beer hanging out the window of that moving train, and that's my good friend Jen next to me who came to visit me in Thailand after I had been living there for about six months. The ear to ear grins we are both sporting were given to us by the people in the diner car just behind us: Thai people; the train staff, all wearing brightly colored floral shirts and absolutely soaked to the bone in ice water.

We met them in the very early hours of the day when we moved from our sleeper car to the dining car to watch the sunrise from the open windows. We were greeted with excitement, as the train staff was eager to get a party started... That day happened to be the first of a week-long celebration for the Buddhist New Year; a holiday called Songkran which virtually everyone in Thailand celebrates by "cleansing the spirit" with water. In modern times, it has turned into a traditional boozy water fight. You can't go anywhere in the country that week without getting a big bucket of ice water dumped right on your head.

At Songkran, I had heard that you are very literally not safe anywhere, no matter where you are, what you're wearing or the time of day. This picture was taken three hours (and possibly three beers) into our moving Songkran celebration. Once we got to our destination of Chiang Mai, we were in fact already soaking wet (and also drunk) at 11am. The rest of day involved roaming around the city, enjoying the crazy celebration while our clothes stuck to our skin and kept us cool that hot Thai summer day!

Have you ever experienced Songkran in Thailand? Would you??

I know I would be extremely lucky to have another adventure of this caliber again, but I'm sure hoping for one and I'm doing whatever I can to up my chances.

Sort:  

A friend of mime who used to live in Thailand told me about this celebration. She got wet several times in one day 😂

Looks like you were having a lot of fun too!

So much fun! Really exhausting (and cold!) but one of the most memorable travel days I've ever had!

Such an AESTETIC shot

Hey @nomadgirl i love your posts and reading your stories. Im New to steemit as well. Im glad i found you through @cruscate post on advice for us newbies. I think we have a lot in common and I find your story of be coming a nomad really inspiring, its kind of Been my calling for many years and im trying to Find a way to continue my passion for Travelling (although my life changed a bit this year, taking an unexpected turn as i became a mom). But thats No stopper, in fact i feel more motivated these Days continuing my adventurous lifestyle. Im excited to be following you on your Journey. Love from another Boston girl😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94