The Hero's Battle

in #digitalillustration6 years ago (edited)

BEOWULF'S END cropped.jpg
At the start of a new year sometimes it's really hard to get back into your groove. For me this was such a year. I started off with gusto, cleaning out my studio space, getting everything organized and ready to paint and work, but then...nothing. I didn't know what to do, my drive to work on personal projects fizzled and I couldn't get myself to sit down and paint.
Not only was I battling to create art but I was battling to do anything. I am fortunate to have a job that I love, and performing my duties at work as an Art Director was going fine, but when I left work I would come home, have dinner and just watch T.V or browse Facebook. I was feeling drained and deeply unmotivated. Long story short I reached a point where I had to just look at myself and ask what are my goals? Do I have any? What am I aiming at? Why am I wasting time?
Who do I want to be?
Whoa! Existential crisis much lol. I am so thankful for people in my life who gave me advice and also for this amazing platform called the internet. There are so many motivational, inspiring ,successful people out there who willingly share their knowledge and experience with others through platforms like YouTube.

Life is a battle, you need to get up every day, put on your armor, and move forward towards your goals, even if you just take one step a day. So this year I'm going to push forward on all fronts.

BEOWULF WIP 01.jpg
Pushing forward artistically had to start somewhere, so I started with an unfinished painting. This painting was abandoned last year. This is how I started the painting mid last year as a rough greyscale sketch in Photoshop.

BEOWULF WIP 02.jpg
I wanted a dynamic painting so I worked loosely trying to get expressive brush strokes into the piece and blocking in some dramatic lighting. This phase is where I left the painting last year.

BEOWULF WIP 03.jpg
The first thing I did when I picked it up again this year was self-art-direct. I scribbled over the first things that bugged me about the image. Nothing like a gap of a couple months to allow you to look at a piece with fresh eyes.

BEOWULF WIP 04.jpg
I then proceeded to address my own notes. I find that being critical about your own work is really helpful. Not in the negative 'I hate my work' kind of way that leaves you demotivated, but in the analyzing it, finding its weaknesses and then fixing it even if it means undoing hours of work you spent going in the wrong direction.

BEOWULF'S END x1600.jpg
The final image.
It may have been the easy route taking an unfinished painting through to completion but I will take it because it's a step forward and now the creative wheel is turning! My dreams and goals are a little closer now. So be like Beowulf here, aim to win, even if you die in the process... at least he went out a hero.
If you got this far, thanks for reading!

Cheers for now,
Lynton

Steemit banner Lynton 2018.jpg

Sort:  

So awesome! I love dragons

Feel like that too at times, I have not, until just now, done anything special in my studio since New Years Eve. But these are plateaus we are on from time to time, only to break out in frenzied activity when the dam breaks!
Good work - upvoted and resteemed!

I think your right, you never remember the plateaus when your in the activity. Here's to dams breaking ! Thanks for the upvote and resteem, much appreciated!

what brought me back into the studio was a pending trip to Serbia for a exhibition, and a forgotten promise that I was going to trade art with a friend there. We said we were going to create something new for each other (that was 2 years ago, at another occasion). It worked out fine, I had it done in a few days, but now I got the feel for it again, so when I come back, I will start a large project I had ideas for for a while already.

What an epic painting. Good work takes some time and sometimes even a break

Thank you. Yes agreed. The more I paint the more I find that is the case.

Wow man! Such a nice painting!

Great work, i followed!

Thanks man! I appreciate it .

Great to see you back into the groove of things.
Life has that ability to overwhelm us sometimes and we to take a step back for a moment and reassess :)

Thank you, yes it sure does. I'm enjoying having a renewed sense of direction.

Great work. I really enjoyed it. It can be difficult to get back into the groove of things when revisiting an abandoned work. Well done.

Thank you, I'm glad to be feeling inspired again :)

Proud of you my love xx

Thank you my love xox

loved it!

Good job bro :)

Thanks my bro :)

Great color work! Have you tried out any of the drawing apps on the ipad pro?

Thank you, I have tried some on a friends ipad pro, but I don't have one myself. They are super awesome, like working in an actual sketchbook.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05