2018 New years [ The pixel art process : two tutorial bonus! ]

in #digital7 years ago (edited)

The mysterious level


20188.gif

Hey there guys before I start this post I want you to look at @jonny-clearwater's post for the pixel art weekly!

This weeks theme is new year! I want to let you guys know that I view the world as some sort of video game, we all level up in certain skills and take on different roles or classes to soon move onto jobs as nerdy as that sounds.
Pixel Art Weekly


I probably made this entry a bit too obscure but to me what this post meant to me is that 2017 was a dungeon level, where grinding was real and the college days of mine are over and that killed me HAHA. 2018 is going to be a mysterious level where we don't know whats gonna happen and we're gonna explore and venture through it!
as for the next level... I don't know COULD BE THE END OF THE WORLD.

Nevertheless lets begin the tutorial time! I was so into my zone that i didn't stage the file into a way i could make a tutorial out of it, i just flattened the layers on the way as I was working fast! But through scavenging shots I'm able to creating one!

1.PNG
First I started off with the three spheres just basic shape nothing special just like a typical world select in those mobile apps you see everyday now.

2.PNG
I start off with the left because i wanted to make a dungeon themed world, so I made the greenish stone floor. selected a purple background it was more appropriate than blue/black.

3.PNG
Some little cracks and decals on walls with a dead small skeleton

4.PNG
I felt as if the 3 spheres were quite boring to look at so what if i had extruded parts of the silhouette to make it interesting rather than a perfect simple shape! and it worked it looks much better.

5.PNG
Added the sword and now onto the next!

6.PNG
Carrying and reinforcing my point i just made, a perfect simple shape is boring so i spiced it up to look more cool, the silhouette looks like a cool city and towards the bottom maybe it's crumbling down with vines hanging!

7.PNG
Then comes the lighting, majority of my pieces i only use 3 shades of the colour/variety it's simple and restricted and you wont go too crazy and mess up colours!

8.PNG
Right now it looks a bit mute but until you punch in the shadows it starts to come along together!

9.PNG
Could be a falling sword onto the planet or end of the planet who knows I just simply did it because in my mind i just thought apocalyptic scene and this was the result!

10.PNG
now onto the current level. 2018! some simple grass and rocks wanted to try a different linear style with the lines

11.PNG
I get more experimental with the lines on the dirt layer

12.PNG
simple triangle shapes with the three shades technique i always use!

13.PNG
a background with leaves and ooooh is that a face?

14.PNG
Lastly I place text! I want to let you guys know that pixel art is very very easy to do but hard to master. Everything i've been doing has been simple skills anyone can do, you can do it really! just use a pencil tool and you'll be fine it doesnt matter what program!

201888.gif
Alright now that the illustrating part is over I want to teach you guys how I made the loading bar with the cool animation layering!

201888.gif
At the moment this is a 8 frame animation I timed when this is going to flash which will take aprroximately 2 ~ 3 frames and load for 5.

201888.gif
Here i added the load and flashing but things are missing it just missing the effects which is smearring lines that make the animation look faster than it should be!

201888.gif
And voila theres your animation loading gif!

I'll place the spritesheet right here so you can view it and study it if need be!
201888.png

I hope you guys enjoyed this tutorial, I hope it wasn't too confusing if not I hope you found my process interesting!
Please do upvote and comment what you think and what would you like me to animate! I'm more than happy to be fulfilling requests to get good!
I'll be heading to sleep for now it's 3am again
cheers @lunaticmoon


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Whoa! I think this is my fave one of yours yet. I really love this

Thank you ahhhh

Awesome shit man. Love it !

thanks man! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59631.75
ETH 2622.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41