You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: the state of the digital nomad union: a reflective update from the pub.

in #digital-nomad7 years ago

i’m very thankful everyday to still be here and while it’s affected me greatly not seeing my daughter this last weekend subconsciously i’m just happy that all of us are healthy and striving for betterment of our mental health everyday, only then, can we be activated to help those around us.

It's tough to keep this frame of mind constantly for me.

My daughter is in the UK and growing up fast, I left the UK 2 years ago as my mental health was suffering. One of the reasons being the reduced weekend contact with my girl as parties/swimming/karate/friends were starting to fill her life. Sitting in the same city but waiting for the chance to see her was too much, and so I'm here in Mallorca waiting for the 'ok' for a visit in a month or two.

Even though we last met on the best of terms, that lingering feeling of 'do she still think about me' is always there, and some days it is overpowering. I'm here a lot because of that I think, trying to do good deeds and keep myself busy.

But yes, she's healthy, I'm healthier, and this is something positive to hold.

Cheers.

Sort:  

i hear you, really i do. life is cruel at times as to the whys and it's stuff we don't talk about at times. i've got my daughter coming today for overnight, i try and make the most of it -- i hear about you when you say about parties and all that, she goes to more things than i ever did as a kid and i'm happy she's around people -- maybe i assume it's not always the right people but then she's got her own mind and can ask me questions whenever she wants if she ever feels anxious about anything -- that's all we can do as dads, love our children as much as we can.

of course your daughter thinks about you man, it's biological. that never leaves. ever.

the keeping busy is fine as long as you are keeping mentally sane and celebrating life by trying to carve some level of future for her too, even if it's just to put something aside, advice, words, money whatever it maybe -- i think we both have the same run in with mental health!

remember, you keeping sane helps her massively when you are together. have a chilled day man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67212.95
ETH 2616.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68