3d printed Kindle Holder - Failed Print

in #digital-design7 years ago

If you have an ebook reader than you most likely know how annoying it is to hold the reader up all the time when you want to read in bed. Today I decided to design and 3d print a Kindle Holder which can be connect to the top of my bed and hold the Kindle up for me.

The design in Fusion360 went very well and I was excited to print the first draft.


Collage_Fotor.jpg

Reference Image used for correct dimensions.


Kindle-Paperwhite-2015-tech-specs-540x697.jpg

I uploaded the file to my Prusa MK2S printer and left the house to do some shopping. When I came back around 5 hours later I saw to my disappointment that somewhere during the process the model came loose from the print bed and was completely ruined!


IMG_20171201_193158.jpg

If you design stuff than you probably know how annoying it is when a large print failed and you need to start all over again. The issue I have is that I am not sure what happened since I applied glue on the bed and usually that holds the print.

I will give it another try this weekend and hope to share some pictures of the completed print attached to my bed soon.

Take care!

follow_tarekadam.gif

Sort:  

Ah, I feel your pain...

What material are you using? I do a lot of printing with PLA, and have had my best success using blue painters tape on the bed.

😄😇😄

@creatr

I used PLA for this one as well and used blue tape in the past but lately glue worked just fine. I give it another try using the tape. Thanks!

Very cool that you solve your technical problems by making your own 3D designs. Sucked that this one didn't work out but hopefully next one will turn out even more perfect!

Thank you, yes I will give it another try today and hope it will work this time.

Hi, the automatic bed leveling is performed on each print ? The place where you print is colder than usual ?

Yes, automatic bed leveling is performed before each print. The place is a bit cooler than usual since I didn't turn the heater on but I have a heated bed. Maybe it was simple bad luck but I will read more about the temperature and how it affects the print. Thank you.

There are some minor issues due to low temperature for the automatic bed leveling, they put an ambient temperature sensor on the new Prusa to fix this: may be I am totally wrong, if it just a few degrees.
The PEI heatbed is clean ? It can be an issue too.

Did you try PETG ? I like this material for more structural stuff.

Very good information, thank you! I haven't tried PETG yet but will do.

You are welcome. Happy printing !

must be very frustrating to start all over again but you can do it :)

I am sure that you will get it the right way next time :) Have a nice weekend!

Thank you, have a nice weekend as well!

Yup buddy I can understand your problem, I am also a 3D artist so sometimes the software crashes and we have to start it from the very beginning which becomes really really painful.

Yes it is indeed.

This is my new 3d design, I wanna your genuine reviews for it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community based project that aims to support makers on the blockchain in every way possible. Find out more about us on our website: www.steemmakers.com

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

This post was promoted with @monitorcap traffic bot & STEEM promotion service.

Send MIN. $1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field
and recieve upvotes & resteems for your posts. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Hi after 4 months i m back here still ur post are good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86