You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's Not Always Pretty

Great question, and thanks for sharing your own strategies!

  • Getting organized early is a big one for me. I have a really intense school binder setup with information listed redundantly throughout and on a wall calendar. I also download/buy/photocopy all the readings and put them in folders in my dropbox, organized by class and week.
  • Prioritizing homework over going out, and giving myself permission to decline invitations in order to protect my mental energy.
  • Reading for fun, not just cramming school reading.
  • Letting myself have time off when I'm mentally exhausted, by watching tv or drawing or listening to podcasts.
  • Joining a choir. I love to sing, and it's actually really good for you—there are studies that back me up on this! I took a one-credit choir course each term my last year of undergrad (except the semester in Ghana, when I took a dance course).
Sort:  

Thank you for these! I was in several choirs before becoming a mom, now it's a struggle :(.

I love that you give yourself permission to decline things, including homework, to balance that mental load ❤️.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68516.58
ETH 3713.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74