My experience of the Keto/Ketogenic diet and technical information 1/5

in #diet7 years ago

Intro:
Having tried a lot of diets, whilst they worked, I didn’t enjoy being on them and I couldn’t wait to sink my teeth into something I wasn’t meant to eat.
With the keto diet, I really enjoyed the foods that you are allowed to eat on it. It’s eating fats and protein’s whilst cutting out the carbs.
But why cut the carbs, this is another zero carb diet? No, I will explain all.

Picture of me on my Physical Training Instructor course, trying to look buff :laughing: .
4963_116080493851_4761291_n.jpg

What happens to your body when it is in a ketogenic state?:
Normally, carbohydrates are eaten, broken down and stored as glycogen in the muscles. When you stop eating carbohydrates, once the glycogen has been depleted from your muscles, it must use another source of energy to keep going.
With the absence of carbohydrates, the liver converts fatty acids into ketons which are used as energy.

Amounts of food:
Work out the amount of protein your body requires each day, there are calculators online to tell you, I went with my body weight and doubled it.
As a rule of thumb, you should take the same amount of calories for fats as you do proteins.
Remember, fats have over twice the amount of calories per gram as proteins.
Eg.
1gram protein = 4kcal
1gram fat = 9kcal
I wasn’t exact and my rule was: if you take 200g of protein per day, take 100gram of fat. (Remembering to spread this out in your meals throughout the day)

So it’s just proteins and fats, there’s no carbs? Recarb up!:
Each week we must replenish the glycogen into our muscles for the maximum amount of fat burning to take place. However: The first time your body goes into a Ketogenic state, it takes around two weeks; so you must wait two weeks before your first carb up. After this it’s a weekly carb up.
CV should be done on the day of your carb up. You will notice that your veins are sticking out like crazy, it’s like your body has turned into the hulk after a carb up.

Carb Up Day:
Remember to keep taking your protein on this day, but don’t take in any, replace this with carbs. I have ready some people like to use slow burning carbs and some simple sugars. I went with a mixture and it worked for me. Try keep your calories to a similar level as to your levels in the week, I wasn’t strict with this but I didn’t go too overboard.
Buns.jpg

Exercise:
I worked out 4 times a week on this diet, and rested for 3 days of the week. This type of exercise is tailored to use up all remaining glycogen in the muscles so that the body has to resort to using fat as energy.
Day 1 weights
Day 2 cardio
Day 3 weights
Day 4-6 rest
Day 7 cardio
Weights: doing all over body workouts with low reps (4-6) and using a heavy weight in relation to the reps. (you can feel the glycogen draining from your body)
Cardio: 15minutes alternating sprint / rest in 1 minute intervals (first thing in the morning while your body is empty of food)
Gym.jpg

To Be Continued...

Sort:  

Congratulations @tonyfaz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

YeeEee!
More to come!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59200.90
ETH 2601.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41