Losing weight using the IIFYM approach.

in #diet7 years ago

The IIFYM acronym stands for "if it fits in your macros." I used to follow a strict diet, with only one cheat meal a week. What I found was that I would do great for about 4-5 weeks, then I would either fall off and say screw it and go on a binge eating what I wanted. This didn't go well and I would end up losing weight to gain it right back. What I have found with the IIFYM, I track everything I eat in MyFitnessPal and set the goal perimeters at 35% carb, 40% protein, 25% fat. Then I cycle my calories. I do 2 lower calorie days (1300 calories) and one higher calorie day (1700), and cycle between the 3 days.

I am the leanest I have ever been and I don't have to worry about my choices as much. If I want ice cream, cake, wine... whatever I felt restricted from, I eat it! For the first time I have a healthy relationship with food and I don't feel like I can't have this or that. If it fits, than I can eat it! Calories in minus calories out, right? So I'll add food as I go into the app... lets say I get to 5pm and I ate all my carbs for the day... well then I can only have protein or fat. So I it can be challenging, but also helps you see how much you actually do eat. Give it a try and let me know what you think?

Sort:  

Here's a great macro calculator for people trying to start IIFYM. I've been doing macro counting for 4 years and it makes life so much more managable and easier. Highly recommended!

https://www.katyhearnfit.com/macro-calculator.html

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48