Plant Powered Diet - One Year In

in #diet7 years ago

Just over a year ago, I started a dairy free diet which I am calling a Plant Powered Diet. My reasons were on one hand due to discovering the effects of dairy on the body and also the environment, all initiated by watching a film called Cowspiracy. On the other hand it was purely practical in that I had sinus trouble to such an extent I often couldn't breathe through my nose at all; and getting to sleep was really difficult.

milk-1887237_640.jpg

Some background: I have been on a vegetarian diet for over 27 years, but also ate a lot of dairy, especially cheese; oh I loved cheese!

What happened in just two weeks amazed me. Literally in just two weeks of avoiding any dairy produce, my sinuses cleared up entirely. All the breathing difficulties I had been experiencing for years went away and I was feeling so much more liveliness in my body. And at last I was able to sleep easily without any breathing difficulties.

Now the thought of drinking tea and coffee without milk was totally unappealing, but I persevered with substituting good quality soya milk. At first I didn't like the taste at all. But an amazing thing happened, again within two weeks. My taste for milk disappeared and I got to really like the soya milk in tea and coffee.

After a couple of months of dairy free eating, all liking or taste for dairy had gone; I couldn't eat or drink dairy at all!

strawberries-2171586_640.jpg

So, what I have realised from this experience is that some of our tastes are just simply long standing habits and they can be changed in just a few weeks.

If anyone reading this is experiencing a bunged up feeling or blocked sinuses, I can really recommend trying out a plant based diet and going dairy free, even if only for two weeks. Within two weeks you'll know if it's benefitting you or not.

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

I had the same results. I can't stand the taste of cheese after not eating it for 2 years.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kramer from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations @kramer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 0.28 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51