The bestman steps part 1 - Preparation

in #diary2 days ago (edited)

20240927_085051.jpg

The morning was cold but friendly as I battled with the urge to get back to sleep. Its going to be one of my best friends big day by tomorrow .......and I? I will be his best man! @event-horizon, @chriddi and @weisser-rabe might be surprise that I would have to do this again for someone and not mine as I mentioned early part of this year 😀.

Well, I am also suprised 🤷‍♂️. But definitely mine is coming soon.., I am still watching Nigerian economy 😉



Ofcourse, I was so happy when he told me he'd be getting married, and as it should be, it was time to carry out our age old plan to be the best man of whoever gets married first.



We attainded the same university back in the days, both of us studied engineering and we both were friends then and still now. We both have the same ambition when it comes to improving the electricity nature in Nigeria. He is a solar installer too.




My friend and his soon to be wife



UKEJAH2024 ( that's the couples slogan or nick name ) will be holding at owerri on the 28th September, 2024.


But the journey from Uyo to Owerri is quite some miles.


In this "best man's series", I would be unraveling each steps of the way from Uyo to owerrri.


Please join me while I give you the tour of the journey.


First, I'll talk about the preparations for the marriage.


The preparations

Almost a month ago, I purchased a suit. As a best man, it's a priority to look stunning. It was a bit hectic looking for the perfect size and perfect color at the perfect price and finally, I made a pick. Oh no, I won't show the suit yet till Saturday..😉


Oh well, there were many other preparations to make, my tie, my shoes, my rose and Ofcourse my transportation and accommodation at Owerri.



Traveling to Owerri

Owerri city was my former base some years back, it was were I attended my university. It is located in the eastern part of Nigeria. I have said so many things about this place on many occasions. Owerri is the capital city of Imo state, Nigeria.

The distance from Uyo to Owerri is approximately 131 kilometers . This trip typically takes around 4 to 5 hours by bus, depending on traffic and road conditions.

20240927_132809.jpg



Unfortunately, today I spent almost 6 hours due to bad road.


20240927_132504.jpg


But all these are not a problem anymore because I have always wanted to use this avenue to see some old friends, infact, it's a re-union.


Today is a day before the D-day which is tomorrow 28th September, 2024, I am well packed up and set to go.


20240927_135934.jpg

I used the transport travel bus. The honking, roadblocking and traffic was quite irritating but I made the time worth it.



I made a friend in the bus, sadly, I couldn't capture any scene or sights while passing through different cities and states because it was raining all through and wouldn't be a good idea to take pictures.


20240927_152415.jpg

I arrived Protea Hotel Owerri hotel which happens to be where I would lodge.

This is one beautiful hotel known for tranquil services and tasty meals as well as free WIFI. Ofcourse, I using the WIFI to make this post.


20240927_154315.jpg

My room also has about two couches for relaxation and a TV, although I am not interested in any of the programs.


At my arrival, I ordered a plate of spaghetti and prawns. Their prices were friendly, but not too friendly.


20240927_154827.jpg

The journey took about 6 hours and so, I needed a good rest which I had and got set for the night. It's going to be a little party with old friends..., maybe a bottle of beer would be enough for me 😉


The best man's steps isn't yet over, follow me through to the D-day which is tomorrow , I've got a lot to tell you about.

For now..., let's go party! (Unfortunately, I won't post this part)

Vote for @ pennsif.witness
Vote for @ moecki
Sort:  

What a lovely couple!
Haha, yes, your posts are repetitive... ;-))
I do miss the part where the best best man and the groom buy the same best suits though... :-))
Have a great day tomorrow!
And all the best to the bride and groom - hugs unknown... ;-)

Thank you!

Haha, yes, your posts are repetitive...

I am surprised it is..🤷‍♂️. I hope this would be the last bestman😀

I do miss the part where the best best man and the groom buy the same best suits though

Oh that would be by tomorrow at the wedding. You would see it.

And all the best to the bride and groom - hugs unknown.

They would appreciate.

It's going to be a great day. For now, I want to continue with the party 🎉 🎉

Have a wonderful trip and a great wedding celebration! Leave the rookie mistakes to the others - when you get to that point, you'll know exactly how to do it... ;-))

Thank you so much. It's going to be one of the best weekends.

when you get to that point, you'll know exactly how to do it

For sure!😀

I do hope you share the limelight with your lady at the next wedding. Speaking of lady, I hope you have found the one. Last time, you were single, if I'm not forgetting.

The couple is beautiful and it already sounds like a fun weekend.

Best wishes.

Congratulations!

Your post has been upvoted by @steemladies.
The community where the Steemian ladies can be free to express themselves, be creative, learn from each other, and give support to their fellow lady Steemians.

Manually curated by liasteem for Steem For Ladies

Thank you for the support @o1eh, enjoy your curation day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65678.25
ETH 2669.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88