There be monsters

in #diary6 years ago

I got a new book. A book of dreams and... monsters.

Well, maybe none of those things as at the moment, it is a book of pages with lines on them, pages that I will begin my own journey. A journey that could take you away from life into a world of my own creation, a fantasy land of illusion and discovery, loss and reward, laughter and tears.

I am going to learn how to write.

Daddy bought a book for me the other day (I chose the cover) where he and I can practice writing things and who knows, once I get my name under control, I might start on the next Great American Novel.

Hmm.

The Great Half Australian - Half Finnish Novel

 
I am not sure what it is going to be about yet as it is still in the foundation building stage but, probably dinosaurs. Dinosaurs aren't monsters though. Dinosaurs are awesome and they are never far from my mind nor life as I have several dinosaur clothes and of course, my dinosaur family that I introduced to you long time ago.

From what Daddy says, is that even though I talk a lot, writing is an important skill to have as it allows me to get my thoughts out without having to tell anyone about them at all. Just, me, myself and whatever I write about the dinosaurs. I have a feeling that I am going to enjoy practicing writing once I get the hang of it as tonight Daddy and I started for the first time and, it was a bit of fun.

I wrote " A " - like the first letter of my name, Smallsteps :P

One day I might even get something published like @honeydue but I think I am going to take it slow and add all of the alphabet to my repertoire before I really dive into character development and a trilogy of books to rival Tolkien. I don't know how long it is going to take to get proficient, but I can't imagine more than a couple of weeks or so.

Oh, I should probably tell you about the book itself. The picture on the front is 'Mörkö', a character from the Moomin stories that children are afraid of because of his Monsterishness. Afraid of? Pffft. What a little cutie, just look at that nose!!

People don't understand monsters and they forget that what they fear is in their mind, not reality. That monster under the bed doesn't exist except in concept. Well, there is no 'under my bed' but, there is a cupboard and so far, nothing scary lives in there except my collection of socks. I have a lot of socks.

Mörkö is imaginary too and I imagine that he would be a lot of fun and quite squishy to hug. Don't you think?

So, from now on, Daddy and I are going to spend time each day or so practicing how to write a little so that one day I am able to do it whenever I want. What is also pretty cool is that we are writing with pencils that are pointy, not coloured crayons. They are a bit harder to use but the lines are much cleaner.

Anyway, after all that writing today, I am off to sleep. I need to get a lot of rest tonight because it is Daddy / Daughter weekend again and we have a lot of things planned, including a Christmas party on Sunday. Perhaps I will write about it all in my Mörkö book or, just blockchain it like a normal person. We'll see.

Sleep tight little monsters.

<3
Smallsteps

Sort:  

A little writer in the making, my dear <3 You have a very good understanding of monsters, I'd say. Not to mention an eye for cool covers.

A book of dreams and... monsters.

As all the best ones are. Good luck with your writings, little one. :)

It is a cool cover isn't it? There was another one with a different character on it but this one had more feel to it. The parents were surprised by my choice.

Yes, it definitely is. Hmm I suppose it is a bit of an odd choice but an interesting one, that's for sure. I think they're just curious to see who you turn out to be :)

I will most likely be...
 
 
 
 

... a monster.

Clever answer, little one :)

He looks like a ghost monster 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

And just like that... he was gone.

Congratulations @smallsteps! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 2000

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You got a 54.31% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @smallsteps!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi @smallsteps!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.250 which ranks you at #8167 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 24 places in the last three days (old rank 8143).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 233 contributions, your post is ranked at #136.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.72
ETH 2344.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52