My phone broke today and it felt awesome!

in #diary7 years ago

I was riding my vehicle amidst the heavy traffic when my phone dropped out of my pocket.

I had gone a little further ahead by the time I finally noticed, and when I did, backtracked all the way to find the screen not just shattered but the tiny electronic things protruding from it.

Its safe to say that someone probably ran over my phone.

Normally, I'd be regretting my sheer carelessness and cursing myself, but today I felt liberated.

I had missed a session of Strength and Conditioning at one branch and was rushing to take up a session of Football training at another branch.

In spite of it being a Sunday evening, the traffic was incorrigible.

But, the deed had been done. The phone was broken, time was ticking.

There is no use crying over spilt milk.

As I did continue to ride my vehicle to the gym, I felt strangely liberated.

No one could call me, No one could message me, No one could reach out to me instantly unless I was on a laptop.

This was weirdly enticing.

This whole new sense of freedom felt good.

Given all the work I had piling up, It might actually be a good thing that my phone broke.

I have more time and flexibility to work on what really matters.

Adding convenient barriers gives you a sense of priority when sitting down on a laptop apart from just scrolling through twitter or facebook.

At this point, there were more upsides to the phone being broken than there were to repent on it being broken.

This sense of weird happiness is dangerous, but yet strangely pleasing.

It opened up opportunities and avenues that we had failed to see before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76