You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ritual

in #diary7 years ago

Great post. I smoked for many years. I started when I was 12 years old. All my friends still smoke a lot. I stoped smoking when I was in my early 20's. What made it easier for myself to kick the addiction was that I never smoked in the mornings. To be honest I never crave. The only time I will want a smoke is if I'm drunk with friends. I am now 35 but totally understand why it can be so addictive for some.

Sort:  

Thanks @imperialaussie. Your not craving reminds me of an anecdote with my aunte, who had stopped.

After 11 years, when her husband was working in the garden, she lit one up for him because it was very windy outside. After having handed it to him, immediately she started panicking and said she never wanted to do that again. Because just that one puff made her want more. I think she was the one who taught me the line that it takes as long to quit as time you've actually smoked.

Happy for you you managed to quit and don't even crave anymore. Rock on! 🤘

Agree that there is a line for everyone. I quit for the reason that it doesn't do anything for me. Only made the companies prosperous by selling myself poison that will potentially make me ill later on in life. I just didn't see the point. So I ceased buying them. I did smoke cigarettes that my friends offered to be social and over time I just never smoke anymore. I actually never drink alcohol anymore. I might have a couple of beers with friends but that is about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66824.20
ETH 3503.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62