New WordPress Blog Thanks to a Kindred Spirit

in #diary6 years ago (edited)



New WordPress Blog!


I mentioned on another post that my previous WordPress blog, hosted on Xopus, suddenly perished. I was told that the owner of Xopus was looking to migrate the server, but around two weeks passed and no further information came about this. I simply gave up on it, I guess. I didn't know what to do because I'm not as savvy about WordPress-related issues.

Today, however, I was approached by a kindred spirit who I think wants to remain anonymous. To sum up for safety reasons, he installed WordPress on a server and gave me the keys to both the blog and the server. I don't know how to express how thankful I am. I wouldn't have been able to do this without his help. He even set up a domain: https://cryptosharon.xyz

Click it! That's my blog. It's still a bit empty but it was set up just a few hours ago and I don't have backup files from my old WordPress blog on Xopus. It's so cool to have my own domain! I can't stop smiling. I'm really happy. I don't know if I deserve any of this, but that won't stop me from making the most out of it.

Nothing here is exclusively mine and this all brings out a little of my good old paranoia, but I think I can make do with what I have right now, which is much better than nothing. I'm now learning the ropes of Apache in order to be able to handle the domain properly (maybe add subdomains sometime in the future, add a few nodejs services, etc., and maybe even a proper mail server eventually)

This WordPress version has a new post editor that is simpler and prettier, but it doesn't have a word counter, it's much thinner, so fewer words occupy more space. It's hard to get from text editor to code editor (because WordPress html is not compatible with Steem markdown). Overall, I think there's a lot of work to be done to make this super super comfy, but it's nothing out of my capabilities. Torturing yourself has its own charm. You should try throwing yourself off a very tall cliff every once in a while.

So overall, I miss the word counter and the super wide editor with smallish font size (it's humongous right now). I'm thinking I'll probably end up editing the text somewhere else and then pasting it on WordPress.

About my sleep cycle


As this blog is also kind of a diary, I want to mention that I've been sleeping during the night these last few days. I was sleeping during the day all December, but now I switched to the night (it's 00:11 and I'm super sleepy). I've also been having some really exciting and strange dreams.

Today, I was chased by a sea monster and then I was given free food in a party. A whole hamburger, so big, so tasty, and a big sandwich, and some tasty juice that I never got to try, but it looked oh so nice. I've also been having a lot more violence in my dreams because I've been reading some really strange and very violent books. I'm leaving those books for now but my dreams got really bloody for a few weeks.

I'm not writing my dreams down diligently, sadly, because I've been a little busy with other things (such as reading novels and watching movies). I should start again. I hope to be able to continue sharing my dreams soon. I don't want that to be the only thing I share, but I do like being able to look back and having some cool dreamies.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://cryptosharon.xyz/index.php/2019/01/20/new-wordpress-blog-thanks-to-a-kindred-spirit/

Sort:  

great to have you back blogging!

Hi, @cryptosharon!

You just got a 3.78% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @cryptosharon!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.545 which ranks you at #1882 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 29 places in the last three days (old rank 1911).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 186 contributions, your post is ranked at #47.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Glad to hear you are okay and a new blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50