How a Type 2 Diabetic Saved $500 per month

in #diabetes7 years ago

In this age of expensive pharmaceuticals and high-deductible insurance, I was once again feeling the pain. I had just picked up my monthly supply of insulin. My share was $600 for 4 bottles of Humulin 70/30 insulin. The insurance was paying the rest.

After several months of paying this much I started thinking there had to be a better way. I recalled an incident where I had been prescribed a medication to get rid of toenail fungus. The pharmacy had wanted over $300. I was so shocked I had just said "no." I had gone home and gotten on the internet. I discovered that daily application of vinegar to the toenails accomplished the same thing. The cost was somewhere around $2.00. The other cost was a little of my time. I had to apply it every day and not miss a day. Not as convenient as a pill, but well worth the savings to me.

So here I was months later, (and toenail fungus free) getting on the internet for more research. I discovered an article that claimed you could buy the old-style insulin over the counter without a prescription at Walmart. The article claimed it was $25.00 a vial. Well, I was already giving myself a morning and evening shot with my specialty insulin. I figured I could handle the inconvenience of a shot with every meal the way they used to do it.

So I walked into Walmart and decided to test the article. I almost dropped my teeth when the pharmacist said "yes, what type of insulin do you want?" So I asked for Humulin 70/30. He told me they didn't have that brand, but they did have Novolin 70/30 which was esentially the same thing. It was $25.00. I felt numb as I paid my money and collected the insulin.

When I got home I called the doctor just to verify that the Novolin 70/30 was a good replacement for the Humulin. It was just a little good to be true, you see. However, my doctor said it would be fine. Here I was, all prepared to use the old style insulin, and I could instead continue with my same routine, only for $500 less!

Sort:  

Congratulations @techsmith! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @techsmith! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @techsmith! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56790.06
ETH 2345.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42