You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Remember The Good Old Days? I Want Them Back. Come Take A Trip Down Memory Lane.

in #devolution5 years ago

Best comment. Love it.

You know, I gave my nephews, 11 and 14, 30 bucks of coins for their birthdays yesterday and taught them how to coin noodle, looking for valuable coins. They LOVED it. Best present ever.

The youngest loves fishing, survival stuff, electronics, and anything practical. Gets obsessed and reads about everything he can to learn about it. Oldest reads and reads and goes surfing and skating. My sister is there for them when they come home. They dont watch a lot of telly, screen time is limited. They almost, almost have the golden childhood we did. That my son had, on the cusp of the overly digital age... born as he was in 1997, he wasnt allowed a phone til 16, and wifi went off at 10, and he wasn't allowed it in his room alone. Kudos to parents who understand the dangers of too much tech. Except the modern world with all its fears encroaches... but then, didnt it with us, too?

If i had a switch, I would turn it all off in an instant. Yet here I am, and here you are.

I had a blessed childhood of surfing and horses. Built cubbies by the creek. Travelled before instagram. Wrote letters. Knew what it was to lose track of people, because our lives werent digitised, sanitised, monetised.

How blessed.

But all I gotta do now is switch off. I guess one day I will.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Well said, it's all about finding a balance I suppose. That's something we can be guided towards but it cannot be defined by anyone other than ourselves.

Here we are indeed.

I can stop to smell the roses and take a shot of them to make a shitpost. 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50