Sort:  

right that's the point it uses computers all over the place to store data in, hence decentralized

In order for an image to be displayed here on Steemit, there's more to it than just having it stored somewhere. The place where the image is located needs the ability to respond to basic web markup like href and img. You'll need an apache or iis web server to facilitate that. Plus the bandwidth, which is what's yankin these image hosting companies crank so much. Storj will let someone download the image, but won't respond to the http call, in it's current format. Unless they've implemented something like that I don't know about. Steemit could easily do what you're saying, ala Storj like. We would just have to pay for it is all.

Plus there's the part about encryption/decryption. Everyone around the world would have to be running whatever would do that so it would display in their browser.

Actually, this would solve a huge problem. Currently I use Img Safe to upload my photos, what happens if down the road they shut down? Every photo link I have on my blogs would disappear leaving gaps...in just the short amount of time I've been here, replacing them would be a huge amount of work. I wonder how many people this has occurred to? My husband is into crypto currency and I know he's a host sharing his hard drive for compensation in coins. So if steemit offers steem for compensation? That would definitely work and make me sleep better at night.

Storj will not display your image here on Steemit. It's usage is for storage of files, which it encrypts for security and then spreads pieces of it across multiple local computers that have installed their software to do so. It's a great business model and I commend the author for recognizing it, but it won't solve anyone's image hosting issue. You need a web hosting account and a domain name for that.

Namecheap.com offers .88 cent domains and basic hosting for 9.88 for the first year, $3 a month at the second year. You'll get a reliable cpanel hosing account and can do all the image hosting you want for just over 10 dollars.

But cloud storage isn't going to serve up your pictures for display across the internet on a separate website. You need a web server for that.

You're correct, if the free image service you've been using goes under, or simply adds steemit.com to an exception list, then images wont be displayed here and the blue "image cannot be displayed" icon will be in it's place. Trust me, you'll sleep better knowing you have your own web hosting that you control.

thanks for the heads up on the webhosting for the forseeable future. Heh it seems its easy to develop bad habits no matter what you are doing.

No, I wasn't suggesting we use storj, I was saying that steemit could do what storj is aready doing. There's a formula for it, storj is using that formula, why can't steemit come up with a similar platform? I would be willing to lend my hard drive space.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59085.79
ETH 2543.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36