Best rabbit stew ever: preact-cli

in #development6 years ago

A short follow up to the previous tale of the rabbit hole.

My needs, my wants, my own

Before I began working on my base development project, I did try to search for already created alternatives. I wanted to avoid spending the time putting together a good template for Typescript, fast and live re-compile, local server and browser to visual studio code debugger link. As I could not find anything, at least not something that was as suitable as Stencil (but stable and without the issues I had), I decided to make my own version. This is where my last post ended. However, shortly after, I finally found the best gem (or baby rabbit) you could ever find!

Screenshot_20181007_152016.png

https://preactjs.com/guide/progressive-web-apps

A better solution, preact-cli

I was working on Preact for my project when I found that they have a preact-cli project. This is exactly what I want, it could very well be exactly what everyone wants when searching for a good start to make web/app projects.

You get fast install of a base template, with everything configured to launch a local server with fast re-compile of code and a build system that is excellent. developit themselves say:

  • Automatic, seamless code-splitting for your URL routes
  • Automatically generates and installs a ServiceWorker
  • Generates HTTP2/Push headers (or preload meta tags) based on the URL
  • Pre-rendering for a fast Time To First Paint
  • Conditionally loads polyfills if needed

I threw out my own baby and replaced it with this. I've been tweaking and adding to make my own template, so far I have only had minor issues. Things that have been easily fixed by making additions/changes to the config.

Purpose of post

If you are going to start on a new project and are thinking about tweaking your development approach... do make sure to checkout preact-cli before doing anything else!

Sort:  

Hi @smjn!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 1.792 which ranks you at #28898 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 298 places in the last three days (old rank 29196).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 271 contributions, your post is ranked at #264.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

very interesting article, I appreciate your hard work and tireless efforts. God bless your work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48