Sorry not sorry

in #developer7 years ago (edited)

I've been meaning to start up a blog, but I wasn't sure on where or how to get started. I think that day has come where I've decided the where and the how. I don't care to gain exposure or to reach out to masses -- No, that is not the point of this blog. Rather, I just want a place to organize my thoughts and express an infrequent opinion.

I've worked in different IT fields for quite a while and at this current point in time, I find myself working at a dead end tech support job. It's not that I can't find a better tech support job, it's that my passion is in development. I feel at home when viewing source, debugging web apps, or even building something from scratch.

20130526_205406.jpg

I've mostly been working with PHP and CodeIgniter, but I've peaked at JavaScript and JQuery to see what they were all about. I was considering looking into a JavaScript framework, but it seems a little redundant if I'm already used to back-end work in PHP. I'm open to suggestion on that front, however.

Recently I made it to round 2 of interviewing at a company and I felt confidant that I was going to get the job, but they ended up going for someone else. The reason they went for someone else over me? I do not have a bachelors degree -- Or any degree for that matter. Despite having a plethora of source from various projects and web applications at hand ready to demonstrate my experience, it seemed as if it wasn't enough.

That isn't to say that I am going to let this one occurrence defeat me. No, I'm not saying that at all. I will persist until I get the job that I want -- The job that is meant for me. I do not believe that a degree is really what is standing in my way from obtaining my goal. I know that, in part, I am in my own way.

20130526_205106.jpg

Also, the pictures are irrelevant, but they are pictures of Chris Cornell at a live show that I attended. Was fortunate to have had the opportunity to see him live with Sound Garden.

Sort:  

Congratulations @warmachine! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53