How I got into Devcoin (Fuzzybear)

in #devcoin6 years ago

The year was 2012 and I had just had a very interesting and exciting conversation with a friend about this new digital currency "bitcoin" that seemed to be rather interesting and ground breaking in its design and potential in the digital world. I was sold and quickly started to spend all my free time researching, reading, coding, experimenting and writing articles about my findings or guides to help other people trying to understand this whole new world that was evolving beneath our feet.

To put this time into some perspective, The Dark Knight Rises had just been released in the cinema, Obama had just been re-elected into the Whitehouse for another 4 years, BTC price was at $5, Litecoin had been developed and launched but was all CPU mining, Namecoin, Ixcoin, I0coin and @devcoin had been coded up to be merged mined with bitcoin to avoid diluting the security of one blockchain by forcing miners to choose where they point and mine.

Everyone was still not sure one way or the other if cryptocurrencies were going to be here to stay and be a good store of wealth. Investments were small and sceptical, ideally I found the way to accumulate a variety of coins was through diversification on my activities and risks. By this I mean I bought a GPU to mine BTC on and knew I could always sell the GPU at a later date to try get some money back. At the same time I decided to sell some of my old computer parts and spare items directly for bitcoin and @devcoin . The dream was to be employed and be paid for my time in crypto and have this as an ongoing payment, and it came sooner than I could have imagined!

@devcoin seemed to offer a very interesting business model and payment proposal all being recorded on the blockchain and I decided to introduce myself to the community. Writing articles on devtome was the way devcoins were distributed to the active members and it was up to the individual how much they wanted to write or time they wanted to put in. I was sold and found myself offering to help out with various admin roles in the devcoin community. I still hold these admin roles, there have been many ups and downs over the years, but I would not trade the experience for anything else and I am please to say @devcoin is still going strong and the community members are still active and making updates as and when needed.

Devcoin has its own subreddit here: https://www.reddit.com/r/devcoin/
Bitcointalk announcement: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=233997
Steemiit account: https://steemit.com/@devcoin
CoinGecko listing https://www.coingecko.com/en/coins/devcoin

Devcoin is now listed on a number of exchanges (personal favourite is Altilly https://www.altilly.com/?a=f4811) where there are ETH and LTC pairs to trade your devcoins against.

There have been some very interesting developments in the crypto community... Etherium and tokens (ICO's) have dominated the last few years and now it seems some interesting discussion and testing is being done with using devcoin as a sidechain for bitcoin. More info unfolding on the following twitter account: https://twitter.com/satoshi0x

So Devcoin has a bright future and I am happy to be a part of it, come join in on the fun and get your devcoins!

Sort:  

Nice to hear your story @fuzzybearbtc! Devcoin still has a lot to offer and we need more people to join us! Thank you for sharing!!!

Great post! Accepted for round 83.

Posts for round 84 and 86 still pending.

Very exciting news of DVC possibly being used as a subchain of BTC!

The Dark Knight Rises had just been released ...

Loved the way you gave perspective of the time line of your story, @fuzzybearbtc! 🖒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59169.46
ETH 2597.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42