Tired of Mac applications turning down your sound (e.g. TeamViewer, FaceTime)? Simple fix to stop itsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #dev7 years ago

I've been getting frustrated with a recent update to TeamViewer, a remote desktop application I use to help out my friends and family.

The update causes it to drop your mic and speaker sounds, breaking other VOIP apps such as Discord or TeamSpeak.

Fortunately, there's a nice little hack, I don't know where I found it, but it works great to remove audio ducking from annoying applications.

Open your favourite OSX terminal of choice (e.g. Terminal.app or iTerm 2), and type this following command:

printf "p *(char*)(void(*)())AudioDeviceDuck=0xc3\nq" | lldb -n TeamViewer

Replace "TeamViewer" with the application that keeps breaking your sound, for example FaceTime is also guilty of this.

This will stop the application from using "Audio Ducking", which is the annoyingly non-user configurable system in OSX that allows applications to turn down your sound and microphone when receiving calls or similar events.


Do you like what I'm doing for STEEM/Steemit?

Vote for me to be a witness - every vote counts.

Don't forget to follow me for more like this.


Have you ever thought about being a witness yourself? Contact me on STEEMIT.CHAT, or just ask in the witness channel. I'm happy to guide you! Join in shaping the STEEM economy.

Are you looking for a new server provider? My company @privex offers highly-reliable and affordable dedicated and virtual servers for STEEM, LTC, and BTC! Contact me on STEEMIT.CHAT for more information.

This post is 100% powered up

Sort:  

Nice hint, thanks!

This has happened to me multiple times when I'm on teamspeak.
Thank you so much @someguy123

TeamViewer for mac
that s interseting :)

Thanks man finally!
MORE! :D
(but now for Windows)

good post. upvoted and followed

Great job. I love your work. Thanks for helping the community.

Followed and upvote

Nice tip. Thanks!

Nice tip. Thanks!

Thanks very helpful tip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34