You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: React(ing) Before Express(ing)

in #dev5 years ago

Will be curious to see what you are building. I still want to know more about Steemconnect before I input any key into their possession. I still don't get why so many hand it over to them being they don't even have a way to contact them on their site.

Cookies get squashed by me many times a night, as I learned to view them as tracking objects. I always delete them and restart my browser after researching certain subjects.

Sort:  

Cookies are only good on a domain, but 3rd party cookies like for ads, get used by many sits because all those sites use the ads from the authoring domain. A cookie from a site that doesn't use 3rd party tracking like in ads, can't be tracked by those other cookies. They would add stuff to cookies themselves, but you can always view the contents. They may be encrypted though, but they can only track what you do on the site, and only be read by the site, and there are better ways to do that like with a database, if they really want to track you on their own site ;)

Thanks for the explanation. I am still not sure how one would know how to differentiate the cookie so in my ignorance will continue deleting them when I am done at websites or on themes of research, lol. Best to play it safe when you know you lack understanding, lol.

I know for example that I read maybe two years ago that Fakebook is able to track you on all sites that have their widget on them (as we see here before the Twitter, Reddit, etc widgets). About the only thing I am certain of is I am tired of everyone tracking me and collecting my moves into their databases.

When I use to run author websites for my pen names, I ran a program called WordFence. It saved me many times from brute force hacking. I still get their newsletter, and seems every few months or so they release a warning that one of the WordPress apps has installed backdoors or other things more sinister onto all the sites their apps are on.

So many scammers out there I proceed with caution.

Have you ever used Discord? You should install it, and contact me. My user is KrNel#6579 to Friend me there ;)

I have shied away from Discord, primarily as an agreement between myself and my other half. Both of us have been shafted by previous partners who used private chats such as Discord on other sites and neither of us want to make the other question if this is happening.

Not to lay the blame solely there, but Steemit has been to much of a time sink for me weekly as well, and not sure when I would have time even without that understanding between us. I can see myself using it though if this site goes belly up, so will save it for an emergence should the need arise. Thanks for the invite, it means a lot to me coming from you.

So, you can't use any chat apps to communicate with other people?

Correct. It is one of the ways we honor one another. Not for everyone, but it works for us.

Alrighty ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90