Berlin story #2: TV TOWER + PHOTOS

in #deutsche7 years ago (edited)

image
Have you ever asked yourself why we have a huuuuge tv tower in the center of Alexanderplatz?
Well, I did!

Berlin's Fernsehturm is 365mt high and also the tallest building in this city. Apparently this measure is made in purpose so that every child should remember it, as the days in a year. Maybe it's a legend, anyway a quite interesting coincidence.

image
Construction works started in the '50s by GDR and erected around 1965-69 as symbol of both communism power and Berlin.
image
Apart from its function, this amazing tower features also a view and a rotating restaurant!
It can also be booked for events, and of course you can visit it with someone you really want to impress ;)

image
Anyway after GDR, the symbol is now renewed to a reunited Berlin, and you can enjoy its view from different point of central areas.
Its shape and unique design let it be a trademark for Germany in general, and a lot of Berliner brands took ispiration from it.

It's been also illustrated by myself during 2015! image

After german reunification, voices were raising on a possible demolition. Instead, the Deutsche Telekom invested on it increasing also its hight to 368mt including the antenna.

image
During some days the lights create a kind of cross, which berliners called POPE'S REVENGE.

That's it for now, even if there's so much to say.

Follow me if you want to know more of this magical city!
image
ALL PHOTOS ARE TAKEN BY ME WITH MY CANON 1300D AND MY HUAWEI P8 LITE

Sort:  

I really loved reading this! I know I will visit this city one day, I just need to stick to practicing my German!

I would love it so much if you made more blog posts like this :D I'm going to Resteem your post.

Thank you so much @zastels! I will keep this blog updated, I would like to wrote a lot about Berlin and also learn German eheh :P hope you'll be one of my readers :)

Congratulations @lostinberlin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Keep working dude!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59488.68
ETH 2538.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52