People Pleasing

in #determine5 years ago

Being a people pleaser has been a downfall of mine for quite a long time now.

It's been a cause for a lot of headaches in my life.

I often would get calls at all hours of the day from friends and family asking me for favors.

Drive me to the train.. take me to this place... loan me this...

Anytime I got a phone call from someone close to me, it seemed as though they were just all asking for something.

But I always would oblige.. I'm that kind of person.. I'm the type who just wants everyone to be happy and pleased and feel as though they got what they wanted.

I've begun to implement this in my own life...

One of the major ways I've learned to control this pressure and issue in my life is by telling people I am no longer accepting phone calls.

Instead, I tell them that they just need to send me a text... shoot me an email.

I'm bad at saying no in the moment but I'm a hell of a lot better at waiting to reply and then saying that I'm too busy.

After a while, it seems that people stop asking for favors.

When you stop giving in to what others want and stop trying to please everyone all the time, you lift a great burden off your shoulders.

I don't even feel the need to apologize and give a reason anymore.. I simply don't respond or say, respectfully, I can't do that today.

It's a true power. Something I wish I had learned years ago! Now I can just work on my work and leave everyone else to their own distractions.

Try it in your life and see what happens.

Sort:  

Hi, @determine!

You just got a 4.69% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91