Why You Should Visit The Erin-Ijesha Waterfalls.

in #destinations7 years ago (edited)

911B49AD-EF3D-4D64-814E-AC54F44E3F77.JPG

Erin Ijesha Waterfalls is a seven step waterfall located in Osun state, Nigeria.

To me, it's like a baby that is not being taken care of very well. It's supposed to be a tourist attraction but lack of attention has written neglect all over it.

It's really not that bad but as with everything else, it can be better.

The original name of the waterfalls is Olumirin while Erin-Ijesha is the name of the town in which it's located but most people just refer to it as Erin-Ijesha Waterfalls.

So remember there are 7 floors but no two floors look alike and climbing up the floors is indeed an uphill task not meant for the faint-hearted.

68A2B644-4FB4-4A69-8A3C-5E311E98A30D.JPG

This is the view from the beginning of the last stretch of road leading to the waterfalls. It's a very nice community with friendly locals always ready to answer any questions you might have (you just might need to learn to speak Yoruba 😉).

It's at this point also that the entry fee is paid. I can't remember how much exactly but i'm very sure it's not up to $2.

5267B297-23C9-4175-8FFB-138184893C8F.JPG

Getting in through the gate was a bit tedious as several checks were made to ensure no glass or sharp objects were being carried inside but on getting in, we were immediately amused by the drummers waiting to entertain.

This particular guy decided to enjoy every bit of the moment and it was hilarious.

CB3A5F0F-12F1-4FC0-99AF-20049D35B3B7.JPG

Then the climbing began. At some point, there were these beautiful green vegetation all around, and other times, it was just stones and water.

40916E52-E61B-483A-B42A-9A2F7931CB79.JPG

I couldn't make it to the 7th floor (or first, depending on how you like to count). I guess I stopped at the third and this was because I wasn't dressed for the occasion.

Climbing with my jeans was like trying to swim with a rock tied to me. I should have gone with shorts. Also, time wasn't on our side and we were advised not to go further to prevent accidents.

DACBBBA7-92EA-4A75-8D74-72CC946B32F8.JPG

That's me on the first floor feeling like I've achieved something great 😀. If only I knew it was just the beginning.

78185F72-8603-4B55-89BD-F5391B9D0462.JPG

Then another floor...

E29857B1-C4E7-4AD0-872F-A72FFFFCB58C.JPG

This is the third floor

911B49AD-EF3D-4D64-814E-AC54F44E3F77.JPG

And this is the fourth floor where I eventually called it a day and began my descent.

Why Should You Visit The Erin-Ijesha Waterfalls?

  • There's nothing like it anywhere else in the world.

  • There are seven different levels with each level having its own unique characteristics; the intensity of the fall, the vegetation around, the slope.

  • There are no wild animals hiding or lurking anywhere around. So with all the vegetation and cracks and whatever everywhere, the only thing you'll be scared of is falling. No wild animal to bite you or eat you up.

Sort:  

Very nice to be a tourist in Nigeria. Yoruba is a bit tough is it OK if I speak Ibo?

Did you hike with those shoes? Slippery when wet!

Is Yoruba really tough? Haha!

If you're in Southwest Nigeria, you have to speak Yoruba. Ibo can only "save" you when you're in the East. I personally do not understand Ibo and so do other Southwesterners.

Yeah those shoes could get slippery when wet but I did find my way with them. I just had to be extra careful.

Absolutely beautiful. If I can give you a suggestion. Change your first photo to the most beautiful one of the waterfall, this way you will draw more peoples attention.

Which one do you think is the most beautiful? Help me out 😊

You picked the perfect one. Enjoy steemit!

Maaaad Fun, I got to the 5th Floor image
....going up was tedious and fun but coming down..😓....it was easy but slippery and dangerous. I miss that place fam.

We should go back sometime soon and make a deal that anyone who doesn't get to the 7th floor isn't going back home 😂😂😂

Lmfao!!!😂😂😂 I bet @dyce and @woleybabz won't make

Fantastic, I love this!

😀😀😀🙏

Let's go guys @trillex, @fisteganos. Save up and go soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94