Are we considerate ?

in #desteni7 years ago

Considerate/Consider/Considering.

I am looking at am I considerate of others, do I consider myself, who am I in considering who I am in every moment of breath?!

What does it mean to be considerate - I have noticed these last weeks especially in the run up to Christmas, how everyone is rushing around and preparing for just one day when the shops close, with little to no regard for another person. I saw this mostly as a sweeping statement, which of course may not be true for all of us, but on the whole it has been my experience. Someone the other day just stepped in front of me as I was paying for something in the shop and thrust their purchase under the shop assistants nose. I looked at them in a kind of shock, because obviously I was completely invisible to them, and my response was one of disbelief that another person would just push in front and demand someones attention, even if that person was busy serving another at that time, and I just gave them a filthy look and said "excuse me" - then I stamped past them the whole time shaking my head in disbelief. So this other persons inconsideration of me lead me to react in equal amounts of inconsideration as annoyance at how rude and dis respectful this other was being towards me, it was a very personal reaction.

This I see is how we are existing with each other at the moment, there is no consideration for ourselves or others. In who we are in moments, we rarely stop to ask " who am I, what am I doing, am I being to others how I would like others to be toward me?" Most of the time the answer is no, unless we want something and then we will use our will/powers of persuasion to get what we want. Well I know that I certainly have and still become offended when others aren't considerate to me as I see it.

Consideration begins and ends with ourselves.

How do we stop this? And for my part I have to remind myself of these words - Am I being the best version of myself that I can be, in that if I am considerate of myself and how I treat myself then I will be considerate of others perhaps? It's not just about being polite and having good manners. It is looking at how we are in our own minds, do we have spiteful or self deprecating thoughts that make us act a certain way towards ourselves and others? My commitment to myself is one of becoming considerate to myself in thought, word and deed, and when I am living the word consideration I will experience it in all moments as who I am, and then not seek it in others, but if we all lived consideration then that would be the experience that we see in the world as an outflow of ourselves.

20-Things-Considerate-People-Dont-Do.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @wordstoliveby! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82