WHAT IS THE MOST WRONG YOU HAVE EVER BEEN?

in #desmond416 years ago

I just happened to stumble upon a very sad but realistic story by a friend on Quora David-Vanslambrook and it just touched ma heart to share with you guys..here goes

March 6, 2015. I went to wake my wife up whom had fell asleep on the couch. It was around 10:30 in the morning and I decided at the last second to let her sleep in until noon. The night before she went to sleep she had bronchitis, really bad bronchitis. She had taken some sedatives and some old morphine pills she had from a surgery many years prior. When I went to wake her at noon, she wasn't breathing, there was no pulse, and she was cold like a refrigerator. I started yelling and screaming and shaking her trying to get some kind of response. Nothing, no response, she was dead. I then went into CPR mode and managed to get her breathing, just barely. I called 911 and they came within 10 minutes and were able to keep her breathing. This story is too difficult for me to go on but the decision to allow her to sleep for 2 more hours is the reason she has severe brain damage and will never talk or move again. She spent one year in the hospital and has been home for 2 years as of February 7th. She is still cognizant and able to remember me, laugh at my jokes occasionally, and watch TV with me. We have been married 25 years and are extremely close friends, lovers, husband and wife, you name it. This was the biggest mistake of my life in the 47 years I have graced the planet. There's not a day that goes by that I do not regret waking her up when thought I should have. I will always hate myself for not waking her up earlier. Everyone tells me it's not my fault but I will never believe them. I don't know what to do except take care of her hand and foot and love her 24 hours a day 7 days a week. I have not left her side in 2 years. I have taken a vow of Solitude and do not keep her or others away but family and friends have Dissipated and thinned out over the years because no one knows how to deal with such a horrible thing. Thank God I do because taking care of her is my honor and pride.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50