Design A Character Contest Entry - Week 7 - TREE WRESTLER

Hi everyone!

Here's my submission to this week's design a character contest.

SteemitContest_Tree.jpg

He's a mean, green, wrestling machine. Name suggestions are welcome!

This week's challenge was to design a character based off of this color palette:

color palette.jpg

The color palette felt very nature-oriented, and I immediately thought of drawing some sort of tree character. And why not make him a wrestler? That seemed like a fun direction to take it. I started with a sketch, trying to make the silhouette interesting and the pose dynamic. I referenced wrestlers, trees, and even some Pokemon for this creature.

In total, it took me about two hours to design and finish the illustration. Here's a gif of the process, from sketch to base colors to shading and detail work.

Webp.net-gifmaker (7).gif

Thanks for checking it out, I may do more of these tree wrestlers in the future because it was super fun!

Sort:  

Hey this is great! Lol all the wrestling conversation in chat was for good I suppose, @thunderbirdcomic would like this. This is a kewl character, I already have sense of what his personality is like : )

Hahaha maybe that conversation trickled into my subconscious! I'm glad you like it, thanks so much!

This is awesome :-D those curved lines are well placed, nicely adjusted in the final colour image too.
The wrestling seed grew a tree ;-)

It's too good! I want a whole series of stump wrestlers now...

Ask and you may receive!

Really good entry. :)
It should have more votes! ;(

Haha thank you! Glad you like it.

Wow, great entry @zoeserbin! :D
The mean, green, wrestling machine. haha!
How about "Grumpy Stumpy" or "Angry Branches"? 😂
Thanks for your entry!

Grumpy Stumpy is so good! It's official, that's his name. Thank you!

He's mean but I find him very cute! Good luck on the contest! :D

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49