Design a Character [ Contest Entry ]

in #designacharacter7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

I've decided to participate in @w0olf 's design a character contest. The premise is fairly easy ; three random shapes are provided and you have to create a character from them.

The final piece is here, but there's a bit of my art process below !
contestSteemi.png

Process

I start off looking at the original shapes. I try to find something it could be.
DQmT9HE3kJC8vpjXgsr47qLThH7u5sxbNddigeV2M3CV2o6.png

I sketch out my ideas, simply to give me a guide for coloring later.
1.PNG

I whack on a grey background, hiding the original shapes to give me a little bit more of focus. I also thinks it adds depth to color.
2.png

I then add on very basic colors. Also a bit of gradient to add depth and shape.
3.PNG

I start the shading process (the fish and the little wisp are done, pretty much).
4.PNG

Finish up the shading and color the line art (yay for clipping masks!)
5.PNG

Tweak the colors a little bit, add a bit of noise, and ta-da! done!
contestSteemi_nb.png

I hope you guys like this ^-^

Until next time <:D
Skullyzard

Sort:  

Good job. These are awesome. They're like hand painted sprites from an rpg.

Wow thank you so much! That means a lot ^-^

WOOOO YOU GO GIRL, STARTING TO DO THEM COMPETITIONSSS!!!

Thank you very much !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57711.87
ETH 3013.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35