Goddess of Ice and Fire

in #designacharacter7 years ago (edited)

goddessicefire.png

My submission for an art contest, the only rule being we need to use a particular palette, that being... this:
pallet.png

This is my first ever entry for any contest on Steemit as I'm brand new here. I am using a Surface 3 and paint.net to draw with (open source freeware).

I started out with a rough sketch using a fat brush to block out the figure.

goddess1.png

Then as I begin refining some of the lines, I gradually switch to a finer brush size and use a darker shade of blue.

goddess2.png

When I feel the proportions and position of the figure looks ok, I create a new layer to make the black outline.

goddess3.png

I use the magic wand select tool to select the areas of color and fill them in. Then just freehand add details using other colors from the palette. In retrospect, probably should have done the color details on a separate layer just so I could show the extra step in between, but live and learn.

goddess4.png

Then create another layer for the background. The sky is just a gradient fill from black to blue, then using the eraser to speckle some stars in the sky. The water was just a solid fill of lighter blue, then using the magic wand to select everything below the mountains another gradual fill of transparent black to 100% transparency. Easy way to phone in a background...

Sort:  

Congratulations @sidekickmatt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Im going to sleep but im resteeming this becuz it exudes girlpowaaaa n i thank you for making this badass woman-beast!!

Thanks! Glad you like it. :)

Ps-- a tip-- next time put the finished product first. Thsts the image that shows up on feed! Ppl will upvote that image if they like it without even reading your post. Sux, i know but hey-- we need to get those upvotes!! Hehe

Yeah, I realized that later when I saw my post. "Goddess of Fire and Ice, a square with color rectangles... inspiring...."

@sidekickmatt you could edit it just copy and paste the image link where the square image is and delete the square image. I hope you understand.

Thanks, fixed! I didn't realize there was an edit button. I'm a noob.

You are welcome.

Congratulations @sidekickmatt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78