DESIGN A CHARACTER CONTEST - Week 5 - Style Challenge

Hello everyone!🎨 This is my character for the Design a Character Contest hosted by @w0olf. I have been doing a lot of digital works but wanted to bust my markers out. I started this sketch with the intention of practicing some forms and poses and then ended up just going with it. I may try and do another character, I am still pretty slow lol.
 
I used Blick Studio Brush Markers. They are great. If you have a Blick's art supply where you are I would recommend giving them a try. The downside is they only have 96 colors, which seems like a lot, and is a decent amount, but I do find there are colors I want that aren't available. Blick's also has a website.

Here's my process. I just used regular sketch paper, it's 100lbs, not really the best for markers in my opinion but I don't have any proper marker paper.

My initial sketch and some ink.

Adding some color.

I was trying to render some flames. I think I would approach this differently if I could do it over, I have never done flames with marker so I wasn't sure what steps to do for that.

Now I decided to add some smoke rising. I also try and accentuate the character in front of the fire, to give her a glow from the light of the flames.

Plenty of times I thought maybe I should stop where I was at, but I felt like there needed to be some more of a dramatic background.

And the final image.

Thank you for looking 😁

Sort:  

it looks so badass! and the coloring technique is really good

Wow great entry @renascence!
Your character looks really badass, and I love the highlighting/shading you did!
The markers you use seem very good, maybe I gonna try them too!

Thanks for your entry, and have a great day! :D

Thanks @w0olf! Yea if you can get some it's definitely worth it! They're like a copic alternative.

@renascence fantastic job! Absolutely love how the background fire turned out. I think it matched perfectly for this particular character. And the highlights were also were very good. I was hoping you’d enter this contest, fun wasn’t it? Wonderful seeing your creations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64447.43
ETH 3163.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56