DESIGN A CHARACTER CONTEST - Week 8 - Reimagine Challenge - Genie

in #designacharacter6 years ago (edited)

Hey all

I didn't think I would make this weeks Design a Character contest for many of lifes reasons.
However I did get to output something that I'm happy with. Oh yeah Thanks to @w0olf for hosting the contest :-)

This week I choose to re-imagine the Genie - from Disney´s Aladdin, out of the three characters we could pick from.

The Idea:
My idea had been to take the genie and give him a power overhaul in an almost insane form. The power gives him a grimace unlike any other :D
genie110.jpg

The Process:
I started with a rough pencil sketch, I almost always refined this with paint afterwards when I go digital.
Just part of my creative process. If I stay traditional then I would refine my drawing further first.

genie_sketch.jpg

I then moved on to painting on my usual android tablet, I quickly blocked in the colours and began working on the face.
At first I wanted to get a slighty looser painting style, the body and transformation shapes where to begin to blend into the background, with kicks of gold metal similar to the lamp.

genie7a.jpg

This is where I thought I had ran out of time, but managed to get a little time to work this into a look I had developed in my head using Photoshop this time. This is where I took a change in style, I hope for the better :-)

Working with a more traditional feel, I also dialled down the cartoon look of the monkey and gave the whole image an almost abstract sandstorm feel. I allowed for the genies face to still be the main focus.
genie110.jpg

Time hasn't been on my side so I timeboxed this one :-) But hey I got something on a canvas that I hope you all like.
Many thanks
Nick


Don't forget to upvote and resteem if you like what you see :-)

Check out my latest posts @niko3d

Pikachu pencil, inks and colour trial by comics

My photo session with an amazing litter of cuddly puppies

Sort:  

Great genie. I love the style of this picture. He looks pretty jacked about getting out of that bottle.

what a fresh style of art..niceeee @niko3d

Haha he does look crazy insane xD so does that mean he can give 10 wishes?

haha That's the thing... you get 3 wishes, he takes them and doesn't give them back. Stores up everyones wishes for the ultimate power over drive!! :D

This looks really cool! I like your art style. I do digital art btw if you'd be interested in checking out my art. It's my passion that I hope to someday grow into a career. :) Happy steeming, friend.

@lilcoffeekitty

hehehe.... I dig it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67563.69
ETH 3470.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68