Week 2 Design a character contest - Color Challenge - Little Miss "Pop Art" Diva

in #designacharacter7 years ago

pop art.jpg

Hello there steemians~

For this week despite my tight schedule I really, really wanted to join this week's contest by @w0olf
When I first saw the challenge my mind went straight to Pop art.

Capture.JPG

Because Bright and Neon palette.

And when I was thinking of a character design, I remembered about a vinyl doll that I found when I was out window shopping. I only had a glance but the image stuck with me. And you know U have a good character design if the audience remembers your character.

The characteristic that I remember so much about the doll is her square-ish face and far apart eyes. And no, it is not one of those FUNKO pop dolls. This was... different....

Anywayyy~

Thus my character is born. I'm calling her Lotty. Her birth was initially going to be in a traditional way which is pen and paper .
Lotty .jpg

Then I Changed my mine since this is a color challenge and it would be waayyyyy easier to just eye drop the colors. So I took a picture of my sketch and began my digital line art process.

line.jpg

nice and clean!

Next challenge, how to color the character in a way that isn't too in your face?

This process took me a while, but I manage to find a combination that I feel fits the character and doesn't feel to crowded. And dear steemians, I also decided to be a little extra today. I added more details to the hair and dress. The plain background is now filled with color and lines.

Most Importantly, I am happy with my design and how she turned out. I had a lot of fun drawing her.

Last but not least, The Process GIF :
pop-art.gif

Bye bye~
see you in the next post :>

Sort:  

Wow, this is awesome. So vibrant and full of life!

Really liking the style here! She looks adorable and intimidating xD

Thank you deary uhuhuhuhu

Thank you @elliebong ~ I really really like your art style :>

Thank you Thank you! ❤️ We can do an art trade sometime! I'd love to draw some of your characters :D They are adorable.

Wonderfully done :)
I'm happy that you've joined the contest :)

Thank you. Me too. The contest was really fun and challenging :>

this is fabulous. let's get you an ocd-resteem :)

Awwhhh~ Thank you~

Great concept, I really like it!

Thank you ~

I happen to come to your page by looking at people's comment!
Nice to meet you!
Wow I really like your drawing! Its popping cute💕

Oh really??? Thanks and nice to meet cha~

Great character. I really like your entry!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nanawawa to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56560.74
ETH 2390.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34