Design A Character Contest: Entry - Rise and shine, Mouseketeer!

in #designacharacter6 years ago

Here's my entry for @w0olf's Design A Character Contest.

rat.png

a.gif

Below is the step by step procedure of how I did it. Hope you like it!

The shape I chose:


a.png

Step 1: I started with the basic colors


b.png

c.png

Step 2: I colored the shirt and pants


d.png

e.png

I used a rough brush to add texture to the clothes

Step 3: I added shadow and lighting on the skin


f.png

Step 4: Then I drew the tongue


g.png

I drew a little curved tongue to mimic how cats yawn :>

Step 5: I added shadows and lighting on the tongue


h.png

Step 6: A little swirly on the cheeks


i.png

A little swirly on the cheeks make everything 100% cuter :>

Final


rat.png

I added another layer filled with gradient blue color then played with the layer blending mode to have a little dawn-ish effect. I also added the whiskers as I've forgotten to put them earlier :> I figured it was a little dull, so I added some lighting using a solid brush for a more shiny effect.

Thank You!


Feel free to comment any tips or suggestions. It will be greatly appreciated! If you liked the content, please leave an upvote. For more, please follow @kothy.

All images were drawn and edited by @kothy

Sort:  

Great character @kothy! Good luck with it. Can't wait to see the other 2 characters if you do them :)

Thanks!! I'm not sure if I'm gonna make the 2 other characters but I'll try :)
school sucks

Aww what a cute Mouseketeer! :D His belly hahaha!
Love it! Thanks for your entry! Keep up the great work!
Would be awesome to see the other 2 Characters too! :)

Thank you! I'm very happy that you loved! I'll try working on the 2 other characters :D

This was one of my favs......so so cute!

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :) I guess we both have a thing for cute stuff! :>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61451.56
ETH 3442.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51