DESIGN A CHARACTER CONTEST #2 - THE MAGIC OF 3D

Hello everyone, today I'm posting my entry for the fun Design a Character Contest promoted by @w0olf.

Here's a quick explanation of the process I did from the sketch to the end result:

Step 1 - Draw a sketch.
Most of all I make a sketch, usually a handful of traces without worrying much about the polishing, at this stage I leave the imagination free and when I am satisfied I simply "cleaning" the excesses with the rubber tool.

Step 2 - Create a basic gray color on a separate layer in your image editor.
Since the colors are already pre-set, you'd better have a starting point for your painting, in which case a gray color works perfectly for this...

Step 3 - Start adding base colors.
Using the masks feature I add the drawing colors to a layer separated from the gray base, until the whole drawing is in the flat colors.

Step 4 - Shadow and highlight.
Again I create a new layer and using the multiply feature of this layer and a soft brush, I cover all the dark corners of the drawing where I imagine it to be "shadow", above that a new layer is created this time with the effect of screen and a color to simulate light (in this case the cyan proposed in the challenge)

Remembering that “mask tools”, “multiply” and “screen layer effects” can be found in most image editing software, the important thing in regular practice is not the software you use, but the knowledge acquired over time. I encourage everyone to use the resource they feel most comfortable with. Thank you!!

<<< Previous | Follow me

Sort:  

Wow @doodledude, this entry nailed it!
I'm really happy you participate in this contest and I got to know you. :)
Now I'm gonna check out the rest of the awesome stuff on your blog! ;)
Cheers,
@w0olf

Thanks @w0olf! I will always support initiatives like yours to popularize the platform, I believe there is great potential for groups like art and this everyone wins! And in the end it's fun, you're welcome! :)

Doodley doodley duuuuuude. Hullo. ^_^

Nicee! Love the color and the expression xD

really nice idea for using the colours!

Wow, I find your art and It's very very cool. Good luck friend!

Oh my gosh!! Your art is awesome I'm going to follow you

Wow! Love how you incorporated the color scheme into your entry's motive as a "topic"... Kudos!

"the important thing in regular practice is not the software you use, but the knowledge acquired over time. I encourage everyone to use the resource they feel most comfortable with." Couldn't agree more with that statement. Great job with this character.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25