Onshape - 3D CAD "In the Cloud"

in #design3d6 years ago

onshape.png

Moving to Linux has meant some of my old software choices no longer work.

Fortunately for me, one of my favourite CAD systems is cross-platform to the point where all you need is a modern web browser.

Tinkercad Versus Onshape Versus Fusion360

Many people know I am a big promoter of Tinkercad, and also a fan of Fusion360, so why Onshape?

First, Fusion360 doesn't work on Linux, even with Wine, unless you use multiboot or a virtual machine. To use Fusion 360 I remote into my Mac or Windows PC, or switch computers.

Tinkercad and Onshape are both browser-based, more convenient.

Fusion360 has an edge in rendering and simulation, plus the CAM is more built-in.

Where I recommend Tinker is for beginners/education, where you just want to quickly pull some primitives together (for example some text), or when you want to extrude a line art.

Parametric Modelling

Onshape and Fusion are both "parametric", which means instead of dropping a cube into your work area, you specify "parameters", and can tweak those parameters later. Even better, these packages maintain a history, so you can roll back changes.

Where Onshape shines over any others is the collaboration and team versioning. It's like working in Github with code, where you can branch and share, but even better you can collaborate on the same document in real time and see the changes as the other person makes them!

Running on Linux/Ubuntu

The system works in your browser using WebGL.

Initially, I was worried my lack of GPU drivers was going to make the software impractical, but using Firefox it works very well with only very minor glitches that a page refresh resolves.

Getting Started

Sign up at https://www.onshape.com/

My friend Ben has started putting together free tutorials, make sure you check them out at YouTube!

Sort:  

For Arduino and other programmer ; is a great program for project assignments. Thank you so much for the great sharing. I watched the video and recorded it. Thanks again @makerhacks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86